Bath Blocks {Review/Giveaway}

By Wednesday, May 30, 2012 56 No tags Permalink 0

I’ve always been one to believe that the most educational toys are the most simple of them. We’ve all seen our kids playing with the box instead of with the toy, it’s got to be for a reason. They open their minds. The box can be anything and everything their imagination sets it to be. Same thing happens with blocks. With them they can make towers, roads, walls, castles, fortresses. Blocks can be it all.

Unfortunately boxes wouldn’t survive more than 2 minutes in the bathtub. And blocks would have to be dried individually to ensure no mold growth. Insert my boys’ new favorite bath time toy, Bath Blocks from Just Think Toys.

 

BathBlocks

Bath Blocks brings building with blocks to a new fun environment where getting your toys wet is half the fun. Waterslides, ball runs, floating roads covered in bubbles make bath time twice as fun.

BathBlocks

The block set includes 10 blocks, 1 floating play base, a very colorful ball (which looks kind of retro and I love that!), and a reusable bag with a mesh on the bottom to allow water to run through. The blocks are both mildew and bacteria resistant which is a great plus for me. I have had to throw plenty of toys due to mildew growing inside.

We first gave the Bath Blocks a try in my shower. I explained how they work and what they did. I explained that bubbles would make the blocks stick together and to the wall. They got the message pretty well. I had to go to my bed to get their towels and in those few seconds J. had almost emptied his brand new shampoo bottle to ensure that his new blocks would stick together perfectly! At the end of that shower both my boys and their new blocks smelled like watermelon!

Their favorite on our first try was the blue floating board which stayed glued to my shower wall for a day until daddy took it down. So yeah, they stick pretty well! And it still smelled good.

BathBlocks

Our second try was in the bath tub where J. resorted to get them covered in bubbles and then dumped them all in his red bucket (unfortunately I have no usable photos of this, shooting on a small, bad lit bathroom with a zoom lens is practically impossible). Then he played with the blue cup that comes with the set. He was happy as can be and completely ignored any of mommy’s attempts to get his attention (which means he was having the time of his life with the Bath Blocks!).

A. was the one who figured out that the blocks would stick to the tub walls. And off he went to make a trail down the wall. All serious and covered in bubbles.

BathBlocks

As their name says, these blocks were designed to be for the water. And I must confess that they were more popular outside the bath than in the bath. As soon as we got the Bath Blocks in the mail my boys where making towers and roads and flying blocks.

A. must have done at least 5 different tower combinations and he would show off every single one of his creations.

BathBlocks

As soon as J. woke up he was onto the blocks. Making. Creating. I didn’t had to say a thing and soon he was making the ball runs and towers. And his eyes will light up full of pride every time he made something new.

BathBlocks

And every time he paused, he’d look at me and throw his arms up in the air and with a huge grin on his face he’d yell “Me did it!”. This made me smile the biggest smile ever. To see him create something from scratch and the pride in his eyes, it simply touched me.

BathBlocks

Of course I went picture crazy and saw them imagine and create. It is amazing how something so simple, for bath time or any time, can teach so much to our kids. To see them use and improve their logic beyond their imagination, to see them grow, it is the best gift a mother could ever get. So, thank a lot to both Bath Blocks and Just Think Toys for bringing such happiness to this momma’s heart.

And on to less cheesy things…

- GET IT -

Find Bath Blocks online!
The set we received, the starter set, goes for $15.99
All other sets retail from $9.99 to $19.99

- WIN IT -

One (1) lucky reader of From PDX with Love will win a Bath Blocks starter set!

Rules

Open US only!!
Contest ends June 16, 2011 @ midnight PDT.
You must be 18 years or older.
Comments not meeting requirements will be deleted.

Please, only one email per person.
The mandatory entry must be done for any other entries to count.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The winner will be chosen using random.org (via Rafflecopter) and will be notified via email.

The winner will have 48hrs to respond or another winner will be chosen.

Disclosure: This was not a paid post. The opinions stated are my own and were in no way influenced by the Hosting Company who graciously provided the product for me to review. This promotion is in no way sponsored, endorsed or administered by, or associated with, Facebook.

56 Comments
  • Amanda Hendricks-Selby
    May 30, 2012

    hmm…. i’m thinking bubbles were better than any toy XD

  • Sophie and Momma
    May 30, 2012

    little toy cars! :)

  • lexigurl Alexandra O
    May 31, 2012

    I loved bath crayons!

  • Janet W.
    May 31, 2012

    I remember filling cups as a child and pouring them on my sister!

  • CLawrence
    May 31, 2012

    Every child seems to love playing in the water, bathtub included. There are not that many water toys out there when you start looking for one.

  • Kathleen
    May 31, 2012

    These are very cool! I’m not eligible to win but those are ingenious!

  • SHELLEY R ZUREK
    May 31, 2012

    The shampoo..making bubble animals!

  • Amanda
    May 31, 2012

    I use to love to give my dolls bath during my bath time :)

  • Deanna U
    May 31, 2012

    Such fun blocks! My kids love playing in the bath, I can totally see my son building a trail up the wall! Great pictures, thanks for sharing :)

  • Deanna U
    May 31, 2012

    When I was a little kid, my favorite bath toy was always barbie. She swam, bathed, I did her hair, etc.

  • Jeanne B.T.
    May 31, 2012

    I had 3 plastic toy boats that I justed loved.
    :)

  • Jeanne B.T.
    May 31, 2012

    The entry for “”Like” the Blog Post” needs fixed. It will not let you like the blog post -
    It says Error.
    :)

  • McKim
    May 31, 2012

    I always took my plastic doll in the tub, but her eyeballs rusted out. Creepy looking after awhile……….

  • Kelly D
    May 31, 2012

    I liked toy boats.

  • Amber
    May 31, 2012

    Barbies!!

  • Mayla M
    May 31, 2012

    I always liked having lots of bubbles!

  • Erin @ Simply Frugal Mom
    May 31, 2012

    I loved when my mom would give us dishes and stuff from the kitchen to play with in the bath.

  • domestic diva
    May 31, 2012

    Bubbles!

  • Rochel S
    May 31, 2012

    I had a noahs ark with animals that came out!

  • Kayla
    May 31, 2012

    I loved coloring on the walls with bath crayons!

  • ruby ragar
    June 1, 2012

    I had a mermaid doll whose tail changed colors when it got wet.

  • Kelly
    June 1, 2012

    I remember shampooing my dolls hair in the bath!!

  • Erinn A
    June 1, 2012

    I loved using kitchen items–the strainer was probably the most fum

  • Billie
    June 1, 2012

    My favorite bath toys were my dolls and cups. Thanks for the great giveaway! :)

  • Andrea
    June 1, 2012

    My mother use to let us paint with shaving cream in the bath tub! It was so much fun!

  • Kristen
    June 1, 2012

    My favorite was a plastic ship.

  • krystle
    June 1, 2012

    I had foam animals that stuck to the walls when you threw them lol fun fun

  • Lindsey Gain
    June 2, 2012

    bath crayons!

  • Danelle
    June 2, 2012

    I honestly don’t remember any bath toys, I do remember having a plastic cup that I would play with. I know not really a toy, but it was still fun.

  • Jodi Hall
    June 2, 2012

    I loved my duckie :)

  • debbie jackson
    June 3, 2012

    my yellow ducky was my fave

  • Kimberly Schotz
    June 3, 2012

    I had a white plastic swan
    Kims2312@verizon.net

  • Nikole H.
    June 3, 2012

    I always thought the crayons and color effects were pretty cool!

  • Laura Jacobson
    June 3, 2012

    Haha.. We just used tupperware and measuring cups!

  • katrina
    June 5, 2012

    I had a dog that was filled with some sort of beads and it was my fav bath toy of all time!

  • Kerry
    June 6, 2012

    I had a little plastic saucepan that I loved

  • Barb @ FL Mom's Blog
    June 6, 2012

    Playing with the Mr. Bubbles bubbles! (That scent still brings bad good memories!)

  • Niki Curtiss
    June 7, 2012

    Little dolls!

  • courtney b
    June 9, 2012

    my rubber duck i had!

  • Heather S
    June 10, 2012

    I don’t remember playing with bath toys. I do remember having lots of bubbles…Mr. Bubbles, the powder kind!

  • Tara
    June 10, 2012

    Barbies :)

  • Gena
    June 11, 2012

    My favorite bath toys were measuring cups! LOL!

  • Rebecca Orr
    June 11, 2012

    My sister and I used to take our Barbies into the tub with us. bekki1820cb at gmail dot com

  • Tamar
    June 12, 2012

    I had a boat that I still remember.

  • Mandi
    June 13, 2012

    I loved playing with cups and pretending I was working in a drive thru taking orders. LOL!

  • Paula Tavernie
    June 14, 2012

    My Baby Doll!
    ptavernie at yahoo dot com

  • Name (Required)
    June 14, 2012

    Bubble bath!

  • Valerie Taylor Mabrey
    June 15, 2012

    rubber duck and a barbie
    vmkids3 at msn dot com

  • Damian Jarreau
    June 15, 2012

    I had a little boat

  • Miz Vickik
    June 15, 2012

    A big red boat =)

  • Emily
    June 15, 2012

    barbies :)

  • Lisa L
    June 16, 2012

    I liked playing with ping pong balls

  • Nina
    June 16, 2012

    I loved my ducks!

  • Dawn Reid
    June 16, 2012

    My kitchen set toys
    mightynaynay(at)cs.com

  • Patricia Wojnar Crowley
    June 16, 2012

    I loved playing with my Barbies in the bath!

  • Amberr Meadows
    June 17, 2012

    If my kiddo were younger, this would have been perfect.