From PDX with Love

Bath Blocks {Review/Giveaway}

I’ve always been one to believe that the most educational toys are the most simple of them. We’ve all seen our kids playing with the box instead of with the toy, it’s got to be for a reason. They open their minds. The box can be anything and everything their imagination sets it to be. Same thing happens with blocks. With them they can make towers, roads, walls, castles, fortresses. Blocks can be it all.

Unfortunately boxes wouldn’t survive more than 2 minutes in the bathtub. And blocks would have to be dried individually to ensure no mold growth. Insert my boys’ new favorite bath time toy, Bath Blocks from Just Think Toys.

 

BathBlocks

Bath Blocks brings building with blocks to a new fun environment where getting your toys wet is half the fun. Waterslides, ball runs, floating roads covered in bubbles make bath time twice as fun.

BathBlocks

The block set includes 10 blocks, 1 floating play base, a very colorful ball (which looks kind of retro and I love that!), and a reusable bag with a mesh on the bottom to allow water to run through. The blocks are both mildew and bacteria resistant which is a great plus for me. I have had to throw plenty of toys due to mildew growing inside.

We first gave the Bath Blocks a try in my shower. I explained how they work and what they did. I explained that bubbles would make the blocks stick together and to the wall. They got the message pretty well. I had to go to my bed to get their towels and in those few seconds J. had almost emptied his brand new shampoo bottle to ensure that his new blocks would stick together perfectly! At the end of that shower both my boys and their new blocks smelled like watermelon!

Their favorite on our first try was the blue floating board which stayed glued to my shower wall for a day until daddy took it down. So yeah, they stick pretty well! And it still smelled good.

BathBlocks

Our second try was in the bath tub where J. resorted to get them covered in bubbles and then dumped them all in his red bucket (unfortunately I have no usable photos of this, shooting on a small, bad lit bathroom with a zoom lens is practically impossible). Then he played with the blue cup that comes with the set. He was happy as can be and completely ignored any of mommy’s attempts to get his attention (which means he was having the time of his life with the Bath Blocks!).

A. was the one who figured out that the blocks would stick to the tub walls. And off he went to make a trail down the wall. All serious and covered in bubbles.

BathBlocks

As their name says, these blocks were designed to be for the water. And I must confess that they were more popular outside the bath than in the bath. As soon as we got the Bath Blocks in the mail my boys where making towers and roads and flying blocks.

A. must have done at least 5 different tower combinations and he would show off every single one of his creations.

BathBlocks

As soon as J. woke up he was onto the blocks. Making. Creating. I didn’t had to say a thing and soon he was making the ball runs and towers. And his eyes will light up full of pride every time he made something new.

BathBlocks

And every time he paused, he’d look at me and throw his arms up in the air and with a huge grin on his face he’d yell “Me did it!”. This made me smile the biggest smile ever. To see him create something from scratch and the pride in his eyes, it simply touched me.

BathBlocks

Of course I went picture crazy and saw them imagine and create. It is amazing how something so simple, for bath time or any time, can teach so much to our kids. To see them use and improve their logic beyond their imagination, to see them grow, it is the best gift a mother could ever get. So, thank a lot to both Bath Blocks and Just Think Toys for bringing such happiness to this momma’s heart.

And on to less cheesy things…

- GET IT -

Find Bath Blocks online!
The set we received, the starter set, goes for $15.99
All other sets retail from $9.99 to $19.99

- WIN IT -

One (1) lucky reader of From PDX with Love will win a Bath Blocks starter set!

Rules

Open US only!!
Contest ends June 16, 2011 @ midnight PDT.
You must be 18 years or older.
Comments not meeting requirements will be deleted.

Please, only one email per person.
The mandatory entry must be done for any other entries to count.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The winner will be chosen using random.org (via Rafflecopter) and will be notified via email.

The winner will have 48hrs to respond or another winner will be chosen.

Disclosure: This was not a paid post. The opinions stated are my own and were in no way influenced by the Hosting Company who graciously provided the product for me to review. This promotion is in no way sponsored, endorsed or administered by, or associated with, Facebook.

About Sofia

Wife to a wonderful man and mother to 2 little boys. Loves chocolate, coffee and chips with hot sauce and lime. Pretend chef and aspiring photographer.
30th May 2012

Your Comments:

  1. May 30, 2012 at 9:38 pm

    hmm…. i’m thinking bubbles were better than any toy XD

  2. May 30, 2012 at 11:22 pm

    little toy cars! :)

  3. May 31, 2012 at 1:46 am

    I loved bath crayons!

  4. May 31, 2012 at 2:46 am

    I remember filling cups as a child and pouring them on my sister!

  5. May 31, 2012 at 7:12 am

    Every child seems to love playing in the water, bathtub included. There are not that many water toys out there when you start looking for one.

  6. May 31, 2012 at 7:36 am

    These are very cool! I’m not eligible to win but those are ingenious!

  7. May 31, 2012 at 7:54 am

    The shampoo..making bubble animals!

  8. May 31, 2012 at 9:59 am

    I use to love to give my dolls bath during my bath time :)

  9. May 31, 2012 at 10:06 am

    Such fun blocks! My kids love playing in the bath, I can totally see my son building a trail up the wall! Great pictures, thanks for sharing :)

  10. May 31, 2012 at 10:07 am

    When I was a little kid, my favorite bath toy was always barbie. She swam, bathed, I did her hair, etc.

  11. May 31, 2012 at 11:04 am

    I had 3 plastic toy boats that I justed loved.
    :)

  12. May 31, 2012 at 11:08 am

    The entry for “”Like” the Blog Post” needs fixed. It will not let you like the blog post -
    It says Error.
    :)

  13. May 31, 2012 at 11:55 am

    I always took my plastic doll in the tub, but her eyeballs rusted out. Creepy looking after awhile……….

  14. May 31, 2012 at 1:35 pm

    I liked toy boats.

  15. May 31, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    Barbies!!

  16. May 31, 2012 at 1:50 pm

    I always liked having lots of bubbles!

  17. May 31, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    I loved when my mom would give us dishes and stuff from the kitchen to play with in the bath.

  18. May 31, 2012 at 6:59 pm

    Bubbles!

  19. May 31, 2012 at 7:52 pm

    I had a noahs ark with animals that came out!

  20. May 31, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    I loved coloring on the walls with bath crayons!

  21. June 1, 2012 at 6:43 am

    I had a mermaid doll whose tail changed colors when it got wet.

  22. June 1, 2012 at 6:47 am

    I remember shampooing my dolls hair in the bath!!

  23. June 1, 2012 at 8:01 am

    I loved using kitchen items–the strainer was probably the most fum

  24. June 1, 2012 at 3:09 pm

    My favorite bath toys were my dolls and cups. Thanks for the great giveaway! :)

  25. June 1, 2012 at 3:54 pm

    My mother use to let us paint with shaving cream in the bath tub! It was so much fun!

  26. June 1, 2012 at 6:05 pm

    My favorite was a plastic ship.

  27. June 1, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    I had foam animals that stuck to the walls when you threw them lol fun fun

  28. June 2, 2012 at 5:23 am

    bath crayons!

  29. June 2, 2012 at 10:20 pm

    I honestly don’t remember any bath toys, I do remember having a plastic cup that I would play with. I know not really a toy, but it was still fun.

  30. June 2, 2012 at 11:41 pm

    I loved my duckie :)

  31. June 3, 2012 at 5:04 am

    my yellow ducky was my fave

  32. June 3, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    I had a white plastic swan
    Kims2312@verizon.net

  33. June 3, 2012 at 4:52 pm

    I always thought the crayons and color effects were pretty cool!

  34. June 3, 2012 at 6:32 pm

    Haha.. We just used tupperware and measuring cups!

  35. June 5, 2012 at 11:28 am

    I had a dog that was filled with some sort of beads and it was my fav bath toy of all time!

  36. June 6, 2012 at 5:19 am

    I had a little plastic saucepan that I loved

  37. June 6, 2012 at 9:39 am

    Playing with the Mr. Bubbles bubbles! (That scent still brings bad good memories!)

  38. June 7, 2012 at 5:10 pm

    Little dolls!

  39. June 9, 2012 at 6:25 pm

    my rubber duck i had!

  40. June 10, 2012 at 5:29 am

    I don’t remember playing with bath toys. I do remember having lots of bubbles…Mr. Bubbles, the powder kind!

  41. June 10, 2012 at 9:35 am

    Barbies :)

  42. June 11, 2012 at 11:41 am

    My favorite bath toys were measuring cups! LOL!

  43. June 11, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    My sister and I used to take our Barbies into the tub with us. bekki1820cb at gmail dot com

  44. June 12, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    I had a boat that I still remember.

  45. June 13, 2012 at 12:25 pm

    I loved playing with cups and pretending I was working in a drive thru taking orders. LOL!

  46. June 14, 2012 at 6:59 pm

    My Baby Doll!
    ptavernie at yahoo dot com

  47. June 14, 2012 at 8:40 pm

    Bubble bath!

  48. June 15, 2012 at 11:45 am

    rubber duck and a barbie
    vmkids3 at msn dot com

  49. June 15, 2012 at 1:08 pm

    I had a little boat

  50. June 15, 2012 at 7:08 pm

    A big red boat =)

  51. June 15, 2012 at 8:20 pm

    barbies :)

  52. June 16, 2012 at 10:14 am

    I liked playing with ping pong balls

  53. June 16, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    I loved my ducks!

  54. June 16, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    My kitchen set toys
    mightynaynay(at)cs.com

  55. June 16, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    I loved playing with my Barbies in the bath!

  56. June 17, 2012 at 1:52 pm

    If my kiddo were younger, this would have been perfect.

UA-17582447-1