Flip & Tumble: Reusable Produce Bags

By Wednesday, November 28, 2012 26 , , Permalink 0

Like I shared with you guys the other day, Bellingham now has a plastic bag ban which at heart is a good thing. Unfortunately it has not been carried correctly. Yes, plastic bags are practically extinct but they have forgotten about the produce bags…yup. Those transparent bags for your apples, bell peppers, and whatnot are still there and used in full force. And it makes me wonder: why? Aren’t those supposed to be part of the plastic bag ban? Or are they made out of magic?

 

Flip & Tumble: Produce Bags

I would have never thought about getting myself some reusable produce bags since they are not so popular…or maybe I simply live under a rock. Could it be due to both reasons? But, after I found out about Flip & Tumble I recalled seeing these reusable produce bags before.

 

Flip & Tumble: Produce Bags

Flip & Tumble sent me a set of their produce bags to review and I have fallen in love with them. They are now safely stored inside my reusable grocery bag in the trunk of my car…now all I need to do is remember that they are there and that I am supposed to bring them into the store with me…and not after the trip to the store as I fumble my groceries into my trunk. I am so not happy with having to pay 5 cents per paper bag (which in my opinion should be and will be banned soon) that I often walk out the store with all my groceries in the cart. Kind of unpractical….but still cheaper.

 

Flip & Tumble: Produce Bags

Flip & Tumble: Produce BagsFlip & Tumble: Produce Bags

The Flip & Tumble set includes 5 reusable produce bags each tagged with a different color. This is beyond awesome (remember I have a color coded case of OCD?). The bags are made of polyester and are machine washable (yeah!!). Due to the mesh-like fabric, these bags are breathable which, in my opinion, gives Flip & Tumbles extra brownie points!

 

Flip & Tumble: Reusable Produce Bags

What’s best is that these reusable produce bags are large enough to fit all the vegetables and fruits you might need.

Now I am feeling ready for when the city of Bellingham realizes that produce bags are also made out of plastic and decide to ban them as well. Maybe they never remove

 

- GET IT -

Find the reusable produce bags ($12/set) and other Flip & Tumble products online.

- GET SOCIAL -

Follow Flip & Tumble on Facebook and Twitter!

Stay in touch
Facebook || Twitter || Google+ || Pinterest

 

Disclosure: This was not a paid post. The opinions stated are my own and were in no way influenced by the Hosting Company who graciously provided the product for me to review.

26 Comments
  • Mary Walker
    November 28, 2012

    I love reusable bags. I hate wasting money.

  • Amber Edwards
    November 28, 2012

    Seriously those rock! I am so sick of the flimsy, useless produce bags at the store. Plus there is all that plastic waist! These are much better! Thank you!

  • Chelsea
    November 28, 2012

    I love those product bags! I have been looking for a great reusable product bag for awhile now, thank you.

  • Elizabeth - Water Rolls Uphill
    November 28, 2012

    These are a must have. I really am working hard to step outside of the buy produce, recycle bag, start over again cycle.

    Thanks!

  • Annabelle
    November 28, 2012

    I can’t stand those flimsy produce bags from the store! They always tear, and yet are somehow impossible to get into. I love the material of these, and the color codes are calling my name!

  • Cheryl
    November 28, 2012

    What a great idea! Here in Saskatchewan, we’re never given the option of paper or plastic bags – it’s all plastic (unless of course you have your own reusable shopping bag).

    I remember I was in the US years ago and at the grocery store they said “Paper or Plastic”…I had never heard that before and I thought they meant “Are you paying with paper (as in cash) or plastic (as in a credit card). Boy did I feel foolish!

    • Sofia
      November 28, 2012

      Oh I remember those days!! Now, here in Bellingham, is either pay 5 cents per paper bag, bring your own reusable bag, or go without!

  • Jaime Nicole
    November 28, 2012

    I always forget too – I love my reusable bags but my produce always gets squished! These look great!

  • Erinn S
    November 28, 2012

    You are in Bellingham? I’m in Gig Harbor. My Husband & I LOVE Bellingham! We both lived there at different times of our lives and have family in Blaine! The Bags are adorable!

    • Sofia
      November 28, 2012

      We just moved back to Bellingham!! We love this city!

  • Wendy @ ABCs and Garden Peas
    November 28, 2012

    I just got some of these, and may use them as gift bags this year!

  • Alisha Kostiuk
    November 28, 2012

    I love these bags! We have been using the regular ones you get at the store and it never fails by the time we have arrived home something is leaking and smashed.

  • Dawn
    November 28, 2012

    These bags seem really cool! I love that they are color coded!

    Dawn

  • Christine T
    November 28, 2012

    Neat! I wonder if they help your produce stay fresher longer since they are breathable?

  • Sharon Russ
    November 28, 2012

    I love reusable materials because of environmental reasons….and I am really loving this bag! Thanks for the wonderful review!

  • amber whitehead
    November 28, 2012

    What neat bags. Thanks for sharing.

  • Shannon Stubbs
    November 28, 2012

    I would love to have a set of these! I hate when I have to rip open the bag to get one, and then the rest of the food is loose in the drawer.

  • Michele
    November 28, 2012

    I never heard of reusable produce bags before–it actually makes sense–and I know my Mom would appreciate these as well!

  • JDaniel4's Mom
    November 28, 2012

    These look great! I love taking my own bags to the store.

  • mel
    November 28, 2012

    Those are awesome. I would love somewhere to put all of the kids toys. Love it!

  • Tesa @ 2 Wired 2 Tired
    November 28, 2012

    Now that’s a great idea! I’ll have to look into these.

  • Susan Bewley
    November 28, 2012

    What a great idea! I love collecting reusable bags!

  • deb
    November 28, 2012

    These are great. I love the idea of reusable produce bags.

  • Nickida
    November 28, 2012

    I love reusable bags. I just wasted over 4 pounds of bananas yesterday. I need to invest in some saver baggies.

  • Ashley
    November 29, 2012

    I could so use these! My grocery store always seems to be out of the plastic bags, plus this is just greener :)

  • Susan McNeill
    February 21, 2013

    So many uses for these. Great idea!