The Grocer: the multi-purpose tote

By Monday, August 26, 2013 20 , , Permalink 0
** I RECEIVED THE MENTIONED PRODUCT FOR FREE IN ORDER TO FACILITATE THIS REVIEW. ALL OPINIONS ARE 100% MY OWN.

Ever since the city banned plastic bags in Bellingham I have been collecting reusable bags to carry with me. And by carry-with-me I mean leave-them-in-the-trunk-of-the-car; I am that cool. Rarely do I came about a reusable bags that have more than one purpose in life. Hey, even bags want to be helpful. right?

So after being contacted by ADK Packworks introducing me to The Grocer I just couldn’t turn down the opportunity of reviewing this multi-purpose tote.

The Grocer

 

What exactly is The Grocer

Adirondack PackThe Grocer was based on the adirondack baskets long used in Adirondack Pack, NY. These baskets were used to carry heavy loads of  hunting, fishing, trapping goods and other miscellaneous finds in the mountain wilderness.

The structure and flat bottom of the pack were ingenious and resourceful, as the design allowed for increased stability of the pack basket, independent of the load.*

The Grocer was based on this technology with some modern touches, like an internal frame that lets this multi-purpose tote to be folded and unfolded with ease.

The Grocer

 

The Grocer

The Grocer The Grocer The GrocerJust like most of my things at home, I chose to review the Red Grocer. Green, gray, and cranberry were my other options.

I instantly got a liking for The Grocer. The frame is sturdy and makes it easy for this tote to be a true multi-purpose tote. I have used it,mainly, as a pool tote. The pack fits 4 towels and two extra changes of clothes quite well. Plus two pairs of goggles and two pairs of shoes.

The GrocerI love The Grocer and I can easily see my boys taken it over….it seriously makes the best Hot Wheels cars carrier ever.

That said, my husband was not a fan of this tote. He thinks its shape is unconventional and that it lacks a lid. But to that I tell him: all of our other grocery bags do not have lids either…if you want to close one you have to tie the bands.

And to that, ADK Packworks adds: the lid. Ta-da!

The GrocerWhat makes The Grocer stand out among all other multi-purpose totes? The frame and sturdiness makes The Grocer one of a kind. Many multi-purpose totes are flimsy. Let’s say that you go grocery shopping and put all your goodies in the trunk. Left turn…and there goes the apples, the milk, and hopefully the eggs make it home! Most totes will roll into the deep of your trunk while The Grocer will sit still and keep the eggs safe from harm.

Should you get one? Nah, go for 2 or more!

 

– GET IT –

Find The Grocer online.

Red Grocer $25
Lid $5


– GET SOCIAL –

Follow ADK Packworks on Facebook and Twitter!

Don’t be a stranger
Facebook || Twitter || Google+ || Pinterest || Instagram

 

Disclosure: This was not a paid post. The opinions stated are my own and were in no way influenced by the Hosting Company who graciously provided the product for me to review.

* Excerpt taken off adkpackworks.com

20 Comments
  • Camille
    August 26, 2013

    The city banned plastic bags?! Yikes! That’s a pretty cool looking bag, though!

  • Anne
    August 26, 2013

    It sure looks a lot sturdier than the cheap ones I usually use! How cool that your city has banned plastic bags, very eco-concious.

  • Liz @ A Nut in a Nutshell
    August 26, 2013

    I’m totally sold on it. I love anything that doesn’t constantly shift and fall over. Thanks!

  • Crystal @ Simply Being Mommy.com
    August 26, 2013

    I love all the different ways that you can carry it!

  • Alaina Bullock
    August 26, 2013

    I love my Grocer! I am amazed at how much it can hold, and the ability to carry it three different ways really comes in handy!

  • Alix
    August 26, 2013

    LOVE it!!!

  • Thomas Chappell
    August 26, 2013

    This bag looks like it would really come in hand. So many possible uses I can think of right now

  • Lexie Lane
    August 26, 2013

    Wow! This would be so perfect for our beach trips! I love this!

  • Karen Dawkins
    August 26, 2013

    Looks like an awesome bag for frequent travelers. You know…. folds flat for easy storage on the way and holds lots of great goodies for the trip home! I’d love one.

  • Amy @ The BOAT
    August 26, 2013

    Wow….super cool. I love reusable bags, but HATE how flimsy they are, this is perfect.

  • Christy Maurer
    August 26, 2013

    That really holds a lot! And it looks really sturdy! Thanks for sharing!

  • Rosey
    August 26, 2013

    I like that it has a frame too. That’s interesting that plastic bags have been banned.

  • Jenn
    August 26, 2013

    I love how versitile to tote is! AWESOME!

  • Mimi
    August 26, 2013

    What a cool tote. So many of those types of bags look so flimsy! That one looks like it would hold my heaviest groceries or anything else. I love the color as well!

  • Tammy Graham @ LoveMy2Dogs
    August 26, 2013

    I happen to like the style of this bag and I love the fact that it doesn’t just flop over. Who needs a lid when it stands up? I wish all reusable bags would stand up on their own, they sure would be much nicer to use. Thanks for sharing this bag. I will have to check into these further!

  • Michele
    August 26, 2013

    This looks like the perfect bag to carry all the veggies and fruit my Mom picks up every week–The plastic and even the paper bags tend to slip and slide–this will just hold all of it steady as she goes!!

  • Holly @ Woman Tribune
    August 26, 2013

    A part of me really loves the idea of a plastic bag ban, but I can’t imagine the lengths I would have to go to in order to completely abolish them from my life, with grocery shopping and also reusing my plastic grocery bags for cleaning my cat’s litter box. I do know I would be angling to review any and all reusable tote bags I could find, and the ADK Packworks Grocer looks awesome! What a cool looking bag, and all that space! Four towels and two extra changes of clothes is a lot, and it’s surprising to find a tote that can really fit everything you need with ease.

  • Pamela R
    August 26, 2013

    looks like a very useful bag

  • Karen W
    August 26, 2013

    What a very cool looking tote. We go shopping at Save-A-Lot and will buy their sturdy plastic bags to reuse. They last several trips usually. We do also tend to reuse plastic bags for my hubby’s lunch for work and to throw out garbage (esp dirty diapers needed an extra layer of smell protection) so I would not know what to do without the ability to get my plastic bags at the grocery store.

  • http://www.agusaishin.com
    October 17, 2013

    に関する比類の無いいくつかとトップ選手、映画スター、とを着て有名人最もブーツ、いいえ個々拒否することができますこのの人気これらのいずれかブーツします。これはすべて、より真たびに我々話しているほぼ履物。”anchor_text”