Go Green with Autumn Arts & Crafts Made by Mickey & Friends

By Monday, September 1, 2014 22 , , Permalink 0

I received a hard copy of this book to facilitate this review.

I have always tried to be as eco-conscious as possible. We recycle at home. We reuse. And I try my darndest to teach my kids to be green as well. Be it by asking them to turn off the faucet as they wash their teeth or by using both sides of the paper.

Resources to teach our kids to be green are plenty but often times are just too boring for them to even pay attention to them. But this has changed thanks to Disney Mickey & Friends Go Green! A family guide to a sustainable life.

Go Green
Go Green! is the first book in a brand new Disney book series where families, alongside Mickey & Friends, take steps towards transforming their lives to a healthier, greener, and more sustainable lifestyle.

Go Green! starts by explaining kids why it is so important to go green. It does so in a fun and caring way while sharing facts like:

…if we turn off the water while we brush our teeth, we can save EIGHT gallons of water a day.”

It then explains the circle of life and how our choices affect others all over the world, animals and fellow humans as well.

While going green won’t save the world overnight, small actions will amount to great changes. All we need is one single action a day to save our world.

Mickey & Friends also push kids to put down all tablets and phones and to go outside, be active, have fun, get tired! Living a eco-conscious life goes well beyond simply recycling your milk jugs or beer bottles. What we eat, how we grow it, how we reuse is also a huge part of being green.

Our favorite part of the book? Well, the crafts of course! A. has been collecting cardboard boxes for a few weeks now. He keeps the Costco boxes, food boxes, wrapping paper, tape, he keeps it all and invents new things.

I must say that he is quite the inventor. And these are some of his projects:

Go Green! - Rocket to Mars Go Green - Marble Run Go green - Carboard Train

I am very pleased to see than in such a technological world my boys still enjoy making and inventing things. Re-using and repurposing boxes is a huge, huge plus.

Go Green! has plenty of seasonal craft ideas: from using your pantry items to searching for pinecones, your kids will have hours of healthy entertainment while at the same time doing their part to a healthier world.

 

– GET IT –

Find Disney Go Green: A Family Guide to a Sustainable Lifestyle on Amazon.

 

What does your family do to achieve a sustainable lifestyle?

 

Don’t be a stranger
Facebook || Twitter || Google+ || Pinterest || Instagram

 

Disclosure: This was not a paid post. The opinions stated are my own and were in no way influenced by the Hosting Company who graciously provided the product for me to review.

22 Comments
  • Jennifer
    September 1, 2014

    This is really great. Education our children about the environment early on is really important.

  • Ben @ Cheap is the New Classy
    September 1, 2014

    This is an AWESOME idea. Teaching kids about our environment and how to protect it now means they’ll do the right things later.

  • Amy Desrosiers
    September 1, 2014

    My kids enjoy Mickey a lot, so these crafts are perfect for them. i will have to browse them to see what appeals to us.

  • Jenna Wood
    September 1, 2014

    Kids identify with Disney characters so easily, I can really see how this book would help open the discussion for Green lifestyles. I know I would have loved it as a kid!

  • Jenn @TheRebelChick
    September 1, 2014

    This is such a great idea for a book! If anyone can get kids interested in being green, it’s Mickey Mouse! :)

  • Danielle @ We Have It All
    September 1, 2014

    What a great concept to introduce to kids! And using Mickey is brilliant!

  • Janel
    September 1, 2014

    8 gallons of water is a LOT! What a simple change to make, too!

  • Mama to 5 BLessings
    September 1, 2014

    I LOVE that Disney is coming out with this! Kids love Mickey Mouse and what a great way to reach out to kids and teach them how to be green, reuse and recycle!

  • Robin (Masshole Mommy)
    September 1, 2014

    We aren’t green at all, but maybe if we get this my family can learn about ways to start.

  • CrazyMom a/k/a Melanie
    September 1, 2014

    How fun… I love when I can-reuse things that “should” be trash.. we do recycle and we re-use cardboard if we can for coloring, pictures and so on, we do use the newspaper and shred it and deliver it to the Shelter, they love to have shredded paper for the pups; we do little odd and ends here and there if I have a glass jar that I like I’ll use it for planting or for flowers…

  • Scott
    September 1, 2014

    I wouldn’t go as far as to call ourselves ‘green’, but we do try hard to conserve where possible. It isn’t always easy though!

  • Amanda
    September 1, 2014

    Wow, I love this! Two of my favorite things, trying to live a “greener” lifestyle and Disney!!

  • Francine @ Teresa's Family Cleaning
    September 1, 2014

    This is such a great way to get the kids involved!

  • Angela S
    September 1, 2014

    Kudos to Disney for putting out this series and promoting a greener lifestyle! I’ll have to get copies to donate to my local library and school.

  • Kimberly Grabinski
    September 1, 2014

    Oh I love that Disney did this! We try to be green as much as possible. We have rain barrels, we recycle, use reusable grocery bags, and so much more. But there are always new things we learn every day to be even more green.

  • Alder Stairway Handrail
    September 1, 2014

    There is a storage area where pool supplies and equipment is kept.
    Expect to spend at the least $10,000 when you choose brand new
    low-end cabinetry, counters, appliances, flooring, paint, and a few minimal structural alterations.
    I want you to stop before you do this and first identify important project steps.

  • Brett
    September 1, 2014

    Looks like he really enjoys inventing new things. We’ll have to check out this book.

  • valmg @ Mom Knows It All
    September 1, 2014

    I hadn’t head of this one before. It’s a perfect idea for a children’s book!

  • Debi
    September 1, 2014

    Oh I love this. My kids would be having a good time

  • Jenn Park
    September 1, 2014

    What a great way to teach kids, other than by example. I am always encouraging my kids to turn off the lights when they’re not in a room and definitely to turn off the water while brushing teeth.

  • Aimee Smith
    September 1, 2014

    These are great ideas and I know my kids would love this book! We can definitely make some changes!

  • Stefani Tolson
    September 2, 2014

    This is such a great idea! Surprised we haven’t seen this sooner. I would love to have this in my book collection.