Free Spirit Publishing Books {Review/Giveaway}

By Thursday, November 18, 2010 126 Permalink 0

Everyday life presents many challenges for kids, from home to school to the wider world. No matter how many choices, changes, and opportunities young people face, Free Spirit has had the same mission for over 27 years: to provide children and teens—and the adults who care for and about them—with the tools they need to succeed in life and to make a positive difference in the world.”

Free Spirit Publishing carries a vast variety of books which you would sincerely love. Like books for early childhood, counseling and support, teacher resources, personal growth, you name it. You are bound to find that perfect book for your toddler, teenager or in between.

A. was not into books for a while. All he’d do to them was to draw on them or tear them to pieces. But about 6 months ago he got really into books so I was quite delighted when I was given the opportunity of reviews two of their books: Sharing Time and Manners Time.

As many of you might now, I have two boys. So boogers, dirty, sticky faces, dirty hands, fights and burping is part of my daily life. I am not complaining, promise. I love every bit of it! Specially when A. pretends to sneeze into a tissue paper, but that’s a whole other story.

Burping. Sir decided that burping was fun. Burping was hilarious and deserved to be applauded. Burping was cool. The first book we read together was Manners Time. He was so into it. He repeated every single ‘magic word’, please, thank you, sorry. All of them.

In Manners Time they talked about burping and how it was not polite to do so. Ever since that first time we read that book, every time A. burps {or pretends to} he will cover his mouth and say “excuse me”. Well, his version is more “cuse” but it still counts, right!

It is just the simple things that teach them to be polite.

Sharing Time. Well, we’ve read that one a few times now and, well, he hasn’t quite grasped the idea behind it. Just a few days back was little J.’s birthday and A thinks that his little brother’s new toys are his and he won’t let him play with his own toys. And no mattwr how hard I try to explain to him he is not into it.

But this has nothing to do with the book which described the options you have when sharing: sharing, taking turns, taking it away.

I love these two books since they teach something little people need to learn in order to go into the world. I am really looking forward into getting more of their books from this collection. Other of their titles are: Bedtime, Calm-down Time, Bye-Bye Time, to name a few.

- GET IT -

Buy directly form their website or request a catalog.


- WIN IT -

One (1) lucky readers of From PDX with Love will get the same two books I received!!


Rules

Open US residents only!
Contest ends December 3, 2010 @ midnight PST.
You must be 18 years or older.
Comments not meeting requirements will be deleted.

The mandatory entry must be done for any other entries to count.


MANDATORY ENTRY

Follow From PDX with Love publicly through GFC (bar @ the bottom of the page) and visit Free Spirit Publishing and tell me which other book caught your eye.


Extra entries

  • Follow From PDX with Love on Twitter +3
  • Follow Free Spirit Publishing on Twitter +3
  • Like From PDX with Love on FB +3
  • Like Free Spirit Publishing on FB +3
  • Subscribe to From PDX with Love Rss Feed +3
  • Subscribe to From PDX with Love via email +5  (sidebar)
  • Tweet: #win two kids’ books from @judyfreespirit @frompdxwithlove http://bit.ly/armo09  #giveaway #contest #books #kids #children ENDS 12/03 +1 each (twice a day with at least ONE hour between each tweet) leave link to your status
  • Blog about the giveaway (leave a link on your comment to the post on your blog) +3
  • Enter another of my giveaways +2 each


Winner will be chosen using random.org and will be contacted via email. The winner will have 48hrs to respond or another winner will be chosen.



Disclosure: I received two books {Manners Time and Sharing Time} for review purposes only. No other compensation was received. The opinions stated are my own and were in no way influenced by Free Spirit Publishing.
126 Comments
  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    The Calm Down Time book for toddlers caught my eye. It has techniques for self calming that, when learned early, can forestall a lot of problems later.

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Follow you on twitter as BBirdie2
    1

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Follow you on twitter
    2

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Follow you on twitter
    3

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Follow Free Spirit Publishing on twitter as BBirdie2
    1

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Follow FSP on twitter
    2

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Follow FSP on twitter
    3

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Your FB fan as Judith B.
    1

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Your FB fan
    2

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Your FB fan
    3

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Like FSP on FB as Judith B.
    1

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Liked FSP on FB
    2

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Liked FSP on FB
    3

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Google Reader subscriber
    1

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    rss sub
    2

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    rss sub
    3

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Email subscriber
    1

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Email sub
    2

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Email sub
    3

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Email sub
    4

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Email sub
    5

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Entered Aroma Home
    1

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Entered Aroma Home
    2

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Entered Coobie
    1

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Entered Coobie
    2

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Entered Cleavitz
    1

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Entered Cleavitz
    2

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Entered Chalkboard Tees
    1

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Entered Chalkboard Tees
    2

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Entered Cate & Levi
    1

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Entered Cate & Levi
    2

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Entered Executive Gift Shop
    1

  • Judy B.
    November 21, 2010

    Entered Executive Gift Shop
    2

  • Judy B.
    November 23, 2010

    Tweet:
    http://twitter.com/BBirdie2/status/7250627352596480

  • Judy B.
    November 23, 2010

    Tweet 2
    http://twitter.com/BBirdie2/status/7315072854523904

  • Judy B.
    November 24, 2010

    Tweet 1
    http://twitter.com/BBirdie2/status/7579386219859968

  • Judy B.
    November 24, 2010

    Tweet 2
    http://twitter.com/BBirdie2/status/7608975767896065

  • Judy B.
    November 25, 2010

    tweet 1
    http://twitter.com/BBirdie2/status/7804137253109760

  • Judy B.
    November 25, 2010

    Tweet
    http://twitter.com/BBirdie2/status/7840715568586752

  • Judy B.
    November 26, 2010

    Tweet 1
    https://twitter.com/BBirdie2/status/8138909573709824

  • Judy B.
    November 26, 2010

    Tweet 2
    https://twitter.com/BBirdie2/status/8238925978017792

  • Judy B.
    November 27, 2010

    Tweet 1
    http://twitter.com/BBirdie2/status/8541733008703488

  • Judy B.
    November 28, 2010

    Tweet 1
    http://twitter.com/BBirdie2/status/8801530996064256

  • Judy B.
    November 28, 2010

    Tweet 2
    https://twitter.com/BBirdie2/status/8865020976828416

  • Emillie
    December 2, 2010

    I like the hands are not for hitting book!
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  • Emillie
    December 2, 2010

    I follow you on facebook
    entry 1 of 3
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  • Emillie
    December 2, 2010

    I follow you on facebook
    entry 2 of 3
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  • Emillie
    December 2, 2010

    I follow you on facebook
    entry 3 of 3
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  • Emillie
    December 2, 2010

    I follow free spirit publishing on facebook
    entry 1 of 3
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  • Emillie
    December 2, 2010

    I follow free spirit publishing on facebook
    entry 2 of 3
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  • Emillie
    December 2, 2010

    I follow free spirit publishing on facebook
    entry 3 of 3
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  • Emillie
    December 2, 2010

    I subscribe – google rss
    entry 1 of 3
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  • Emillie
    December 2, 2010

    I subscribe – google rss
    entry 2 of 3
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  • Emillie
    December 2, 2010

    I subscribe – google rss
    entry 3 of 3
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  • Emillie
    December 2, 2010

    I subscribe via email – using my @gmail.com address.
    entry 1 of 5
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  • Emillie
    December 2, 2010

    I subscribe via email – using my @gmail.com address.
    entry 2 of 5
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  • Emillie
    December 2, 2010

    I subscribe via email – using my @gmail.com address.
    entry 3 of 5
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  • Emillie
    December 2, 2010

    I subscribe via email – using my @gmail.com address.
    entry 4 of 5
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  • Emillie
    December 2, 2010

    I subscribe via email – using my @gmail.com address.
    entry 5 of 5
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  • Ed Nemmers
    December 2, 2010

    I am a follower; “Hands Are Not For Hitting”!

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    I think clean-up time sounds good— my daughter needs lesson in that!! Google friends :)

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    your twitter follower 1- WeeShare

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    your twitter follower 2- Wee Share

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    your twitter follower 3- WeeShare

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    1 follow fee spirit on twitter- WeeShare

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    2 follow free spirit on twitter- WeeShare

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    3 follow free spirit on twitter- WeeShare

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    1 your FB fan- Desiree Glaze

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    2 your FB fan- Desiree Glaze

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    3 your FB fan- Desiree Glaze

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    1 free spirit FB fan- Desiree Glaze

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    2 free spirit FB fan- Desiree Glaze

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    3 free spirit FB fan- Desiree Glaze

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    1 rss subscriber to my yahoo

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    2 rss subscriber to my yahoo

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    3 rss subscriber to my yahoo

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    email subscriber 1 weeshareblog AT gmail.com

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    email subscriber 2 weeshareblog AT gmail.com

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    email subscriber 3 weeshareblog AT gmail.com

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    email subscriber 4 weeshareblog AT gmail.com

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    email subscriber 5 weeshareblog AT gmail.com

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    entered frecklebox 1

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    entered frecklebox 2

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    1 entered way basics

  • Desiree
    December 2, 2010

    2 entered way basics

  • Alicia C.
    December 3, 2010

    I am a GFC follwer – alicia715

    I would love “Calm-Down Time” for my toddler and “Your Life in Comics” for my tween!

    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com

  • Alicia C.
    December 3, 2010

    I entered the Holiday Gift Giveaway Hop giveaway

    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com

  • Alicia C.
    December 3, 2010

    I follow you on Twitter #1
    @amccrenshaw

    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com

  • Alicia C.
    December 3, 2010

    I follow you on Twitter #2
    @amccrenshaw

    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com

  • Alicia C.
    December 3, 2010

    I follow you on Twitter #3
    @amccrenshaw

    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com

  • Alicia C.
    December 3, 2010

    I follow Free Spirit Publishing on Twitter #1
    @amccrenshaw

    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com

  • Alicia C.
    December 3, 2010

    I follow Free Spirit Publishing on Twitter #2
    @amccrenshaw

    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com

  • Alicia C.
    December 3, 2010

    I follow Free Spirit Publishing on Twitter #3
    @amccrenshaw

    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com

  • susan smoaks
    December 3, 2010

    Naptime Naptime
    $7.95
    Elizabeth Verdick and illustrated by Marieka Heinlen

  • Liz N.
    December 3, 2010

    I like “Don’t Behave Like You Live in a Cave”!

  • Liz N.
    December 3, 2010

    I Follow From PDX with Love on Twitter (giantsis)
    #1

  • Liz N.
    December 3, 2010

    I Follow From PDX with Love on Twitter (giantsis)
    #2

  • Liz N.
    December 3, 2010

    I Follow From PDX with Love on Twitter (giantsis)
    #3

  • Liz N.
    December 3, 2010

    I Follow Free Spirit Publishing on Twitter (giantsis)
    #1

  • Liz N.
    December 3, 2010

    I Follow Free Spirit Publishing on Twitter (giantsis)
    #2

  • Liz N.
    December 3, 2010

    I Follow Free Spirit Publishing on Twitter (giantsis)
    #3

  • Liz N.
    December 3, 2010

    I Like From PDX with Love on FB (liz t. newsome)
    #1

  • Liz N.
    December 3, 2010

    I Like From PDX with Love on FB (liz t. newsome)
    #2

  • Liz N.
    December 3, 2010

    I Like From PDX with Love on FB (liz t. newsome)
    #3

  • trixx
    December 3, 2010

    I follow your blog!
    Clean-Up Time sounds great too for my little girl. Maybe it will nudge her to clean up after herself!

  • trixx
    December 3, 2010

    I subscribe via feed.

  • trixx
    December 3, 2010

    2 I subscribe via feed.

  • trixx
    December 3, 2010

    3 I subscribe via feed.

  • trixx
    December 3, 2010

    I subscribe via email.

  • trixx
    December 3, 2010

    2 I subscribe via email.

  • trixx
    December 3, 2010

    3 I subscribe via email.

  • trixx
    December 3, 2010

    4 I subscribe via email.

  • trixx
    December 3, 2010

    5 I subscribe via email.

  • Lisa L
    December 3, 2010

    I’m a GFC follower. I’d love to get my son the Pacifiers Are Not Forever Board Book!

  • Lisa L
    December 3, 2010

    Likes From PDX with Love on FB #1

  • Lisa L
    December 3, 2010

    Likes From PDX with Love on FB #2

  • Lisa L
    December 3, 2010

    Likes From PDX with Love on FB #3

  • Lisa L
    December 3, 2010

    Likes Free Spirit Publishing on FB #1

  • Lisa L
    December 3, 2010

    Likes Free Spirit Publishing on FB #2

  • Lisa L
    December 3, 2010

    Likes Free Spirit Publishing on FB #3

  • Lisa L
    December 4, 2010

    Subscribed to From PDX with Love Rss Feed #1

  • Lisa L
    December 4, 2010

    Subscribed to From PDX with Love Rss Feed #2

  • Lisa L
    December 4, 2010

    Subscribed to From PDX with Love Rss Feed #3

  • Lisa L
    December 4, 2010

    Subscribed to From PDX with Love via email #1