From PDX with Love

Free Spirit Publishing Books {Review/Giveaway}

Everyday life presents many challenges for kids, from home to school to the wider world. No matter how many choices, changes, and opportunities young people face, Free Spirit has had the same mission for over 27 years: to provide children and teens—and the adults who care for and about them—with the tools they need to succeed in life and to make a positive difference in the world.”

Free Spirit Publishing carries a vast variety of books which you would sincerely love. Like books for early childhood, counseling and support, teacher resources, personal growth, you name it. You are bound to find that perfect book for your toddler, teenager or in between.

A. was not into books for a while. All he’d do to them was to draw on them or tear them to pieces. But about 6 months ago he got really into books so I was quite delighted when I was given the opportunity of reviews two of their books: Sharing Time and Manners Time.

As many of you might now, I have two boys. So boogers, dirty, sticky faces, dirty hands, fights and burping is part of my daily life. I am not complaining, promise. I love every bit of it! Specially when A. pretends to sneeze into a tissue paper, but that’s a whole other story.

Burping. Sir decided that burping was fun. Burping was hilarious and deserved to be applauded. Burping was cool. The first book we read together was Manners Time. He was so into it. He repeated every single ‘magic word’, please, thank you, sorry. All of them.

In Manners Time they talked about burping and how it was not polite to do so. Ever since that first time we read that book, every time A. burps {or pretends to} he will cover his mouth and say “excuse me”. Well, his version is more “cuse” but it still counts, right!

It is just the simple things that teach them to be polite.

Sharing Time. Well, we’ve read that one a few times now and, well, he hasn’t quite grasped the idea behind it. Just a few days back was little J.’s birthday and A thinks that his little brother’s new toys are his and he won’t let him play with his own toys. And no mattwr how hard I try to explain to him he is not into it.

But this has nothing to do with the book which described the options you have when sharing: sharing, taking turns, taking it away.

I love these two books since they teach something little people need to learn in order to go into the world. I am really looking forward into getting more of their books from this collection. Other of their titles are: Bedtime, Calm-down Time, Bye-Bye Time, to name a few.

- GET IT -

Buy directly form their website or request a catalog.


- WIN IT -

One (1) lucky readers of From PDX with Love will get the same two books I received!!


Rules

Open US residents only!
Contest ends December 3, 2010 @ midnight PST.
You must be 18 years or older.
Comments not meeting requirements will be deleted.

The mandatory entry must be done for any other entries to count.


MANDATORY ENTRY

Follow From PDX with Love publicly through GFC (bar @ the bottom of the page) and visit Free Spirit Publishing and tell me which other book caught your eye.


Extra entries

  • Follow From PDX with Love on Twitter +3
  • Follow Free Spirit Publishing on Twitter +3
  • Like From PDX with Love on FB +3
  • Like Free Spirit Publishing on FB +3
  • Subscribe to From PDX with Love Rss Feed +3
  • Subscribe to From PDX with Love via email +5  (sidebar)
  • Tweet: #win two kids’ books from @judyfreespirit @frompdxwithlove http://bit.ly/armo09  #giveaway #contest #books #kids #children ENDS 12/03 +1 each (twice a day with at least ONE hour between each tweet) leave link to your status
  • Blog about the giveaway (leave a link on your comment to the post on your blog) +3
  • Enter another of my giveaways +2 each


Winner will be chosen using random.org and will be contacted via email. The winner will have 48hrs to respond or another winner will be chosen.



Disclosure: I received two books {Manners Time and Sharing Time} for review purposes only. No other compensation was received. The opinions stated are my own and were in no way influenced by Free Spirit Publishing.

About Sofia

Wife to a wonderful man and mother to 2 little boys. Loves chocolate, coffee and chips with hot sauce and lime. Pretend chef and aspiring photographer.
18th November 2010

Your Comments:

  1. November 21, 2010 at 1:18 am

    The Calm Down Time book for toddlers caught my eye. It has techniques for self calming that, when learned early, can forestall a lot of problems later.

  2. November 21, 2010 at 1:18 am

    Follow you on twitter as BBirdie2
    1

  3. November 21, 2010 at 1:19 am

    Follow you on twitter
    2

  4. November 21, 2010 at 1:19 am

    Follow you on twitter
    3

  5. November 21, 2010 at 1:20 am

    Follow Free Spirit Publishing on twitter as BBirdie2
    1

  6. November 21, 2010 at 1:20 am

    Follow FSP on twitter
    2

  7. November 21, 2010 at 1:20 am

    Follow FSP on twitter
    3

  8. November 21, 2010 at 1:21 am

    Your FB fan as Judith B.
    1

  9. November 21, 2010 at 1:21 am

    Your FB fan
    2

  10. November 21, 2010 at 1:22 am

    Your FB fan
    3

  11. November 21, 2010 at 1:22 am

    Like FSP on FB as Judith B.
    1

  12. November 21, 2010 at 1:23 am

    Liked FSP on FB
    2

  13. November 21, 2010 at 1:23 am

    Liked FSP on FB
    3

  14. November 21, 2010 at 1:23 am

    Google Reader subscriber
    1

  15. November 21, 2010 at 1:23 am

    rss sub
    2

  16. November 21, 2010 at 1:24 am

    rss sub
    3

  17. November 21, 2010 at 1:24 am

    Email subscriber
    1

  18. November 21, 2010 at 1:25 am

    Email sub
    2

  19. November 21, 2010 at 1:25 am

    Email sub
    3

  20. November 21, 2010 at 1:25 am

    Email sub
    4

  21. November 21, 2010 at 1:26 am

    Email sub
    5

  22. November 21, 2010 at 1:27 am

    Entered Aroma Home
    1

  23. November 21, 2010 at 1:27 am

    Entered Aroma Home
    2

  24. November 21, 2010 at 1:28 am

    Entered Coobie
    1

  25. November 21, 2010 at 1:28 am

    Entered Coobie
    2

  26. November 21, 2010 at 1:28 am

    Entered Cleavitz
    1

  27. November 21, 2010 at 1:29 am

    Entered Cleavitz
    2

  28. November 21, 2010 at 1:29 am

    Entered Chalkboard Tees
    1

  29. November 21, 2010 at 1:29 am

    Entered Chalkboard Tees
    2

  30. November 21, 2010 at 1:30 am

    Entered Cate & Levi
    1

  31. November 21, 2010 at 1:30 am

    Entered Cate & Levi
    2

  32. November 21, 2010 at 2:49 am

    Entered Executive Gift Shop
    1

  33. November 21, 2010 at 2:49 am

    Entered Executive Gift Shop
    2

  34. November 23, 2010 at 10:11 pm
  35. November 26, 2010 at 11:22 am
  36. November 28, 2010 at 12:37 am
  37. December 2, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    I like the hands are not for hitting book!
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  38. December 2, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    I follow you on facebook
    entry 1 of 3
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  39. December 2, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    I follow you on facebook
    entry 2 of 3
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  40. December 2, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    I follow you on facebook
    entry 3 of 3
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  41. December 2, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    I follow free spirit publishing on facebook
    entry 1 of 3
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  42. December 2, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    I follow free spirit publishing on facebook
    entry 2 of 3
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  43. December 2, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    I follow free spirit publishing on facebook
    entry 3 of 3
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  44. December 2, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    I subscribe – google rss
    entry 1 of 3
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  45. December 2, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    I subscribe – google rss
    entry 2 of 3
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  46. December 2, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    I subscribe – google rss
    entry 3 of 3
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  47. December 2, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    I subscribe via email – using my @gmail.com address.
    entry 1 of 5
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  48. December 2, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    I subscribe via email – using my @gmail.com address.
    entry 2 of 5
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  49. December 2, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    I subscribe via email – using my @gmail.com address.
    entry 3 of 5
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  50. December 2, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    I subscribe via email – using my @gmail.com address.
    entry 4 of 5
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  51. December 2, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    I subscribe via email – using my @gmail.com address.
    entry 5 of 5
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  52. December 2, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    I am a follower; “Hands Are Not For Hitting”!

  53. December 2, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    I think clean-up time sounds good— my daughter needs lesson in that!! Google friends :)

  54. December 2, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    your twitter follower 1- WeeShare

  55. December 2, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    your twitter follower 2- Wee Share

  56. December 2, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    your twitter follower 3- WeeShare

  57. December 2, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    1 follow fee spirit on twitter- WeeShare

  58. December 2, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    2 follow free spirit on twitter- WeeShare

  59. December 2, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    3 follow free spirit on twitter- WeeShare

  60. December 2, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    1 your FB fan- Desiree Glaze

  61. December 2, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    2 your FB fan- Desiree Glaze

  62. December 2, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    3 your FB fan- Desiree Glaze

  63. December 2, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    1 free spirit FB fan- Desiree Glaze

  64. December 2, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    2 free spirit FB fan- Desiree Glaze

  65. December 2, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    3 free spirit FB fan- Desiree Glaze

  66. December 2, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    1 rss subscriber to my yahoo

  67. December 2, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    2 rss subscriber to my yahoo

  68. December 2, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    3 rss subscriber to my yahoo

  69. December 2, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    email subscriber 1 weeshareblog AT gmail.com

  70. December 2, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    email subscriber 2 weeshareblog AT gmail.com

  71. December 2, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    email subscriber 3 weeshareblog AT gmail.com

  72. December 2, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    email subscriber 4 weeshareblog AT gmail.com

  73. December 2, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    email subscriber 5 weeshareblog AT gmail.com

  74. December 2, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    entered frecklebox 1

  75. December 2, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    entered frecklebox 2

  76. December 2, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    1 entered way basics

  77. December 2, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    2 entered way basics

  78. December 3, 2010 at 11:06 am

    I am a GFC follwer – alicia715

    I would love “Calm-Down Time” for my toddler and “Your Life in Comics” for my tween!

    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com

  79. December 3, 2010 at 11:08 am

    I entered the Holiday Gift Giveaway Hop giveaway

    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com

  80. December 3, 2010 at 11:09 am

    I follow you on Twitter #1
    @amccrenshaw

    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com

  81. December 3, 2010 at 11:10 am

    I follow you on Twitter #2
    @amccrenshaw

    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com

  82. December 3, 2010 at 11:11 am

    I follow you on Twitter #3
    @amccrenshaw

    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com

  83. December 3, 2010 at 11:12 am

    I follow Free Spirit Publishing on Twitter #1
    @amccrenshaw

    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com

  84. December 3, 2010 at 11:12 am

    I follow Free Spirit Publishing on Twitter #2
    @amccrenshaw

    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com

  85. December 3, 2010 at 11:13 am

    I follow Free Spirit Publishing on Twitter #3
    @amccrenshaw

    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com

  86. December 3, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    Naptime Naptime
    $7.95
    Elizabeth Verdick and illustrated by Marieka Heinlen

  87. December 3, 2010 at 7:33 pm

    I like “Don’t Behave Like You Live in a Cave”!

  88. December 3, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    I Follow From PDX with Love on Twitter (giantsis)
    #1

  89. December 3, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    I Follow From PDX with Love on Twitter (giantsis)
    #2

  90. December 3, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    I Follow From PDX with Love on Twitter (giantsis)
    #3

  91. December 3, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    I Follow Free Spirit Publishing on Twitter (giantsis)
    #1

  92. December 3, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    I Follow Free Spirit Publishing on Twitter (giantsis)
    #2

  93. December 3, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    I Follow Free Spirit Publishing on Twitter (giantsis)
    #3

  94. December 3, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    I Like From PDX with Love on FB (liz t. newsome)
    #1

  95. December 3, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    I Like From PDX with Love on FB (liz t. newsome)
    #2

  96. December 3, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    I Like From PDX with Love on FB (liz t. newsome)
    #3

  97. December 3, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    I follow your blog!
    Clean-Up Time sounds great too for my little girl. Maybe it will nudge her to clean up after herself!

  98. December 3, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    I subscribe via feed.

  99. December 3, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    2 I subscribe via feed.

  100. December 3, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    3 I subscribe via feed.

  101. December 3, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    I subscribe via email.

  102. December 3, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    2 I subscribe via email.

  103. December 3, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    3 I subscribe via email.

  104. December 3, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    4 I subscribe via email.

  105. December 3, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    5 I subscribe via email.

  106. December 3, 2010 at 11:57 pm

    I’m a GFC follower. I’d love to get my son the Pacifiers Are Not Forever Board Book!

  107. December 3, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    Likes From PDX with Love on FB #1

  108. December 3, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    Likes From PDX with Love on FB #2

  109. December 3, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    Likes From PDX with Love on FB #3

  110. December 3, 2010 at 11:59 pm

    Likes Free Spirit Publishing on FB #1

  111. December 3, 2010 at 11:59 pm

    Likes Free Spirit Publishing on FB #2

  112. December 3, 2010 at 11:59 pm

    Likes Free Spirit Publishing on FB #3

  113. December 4, 2010 at 12:00 am

    Subscribed to From PDX with Love Rss Feed #1

  114. December 4, 2010 at 12:00 am

    Subscribed to From PDX with Love Rss Feed #2

  115. December 4, 2010 at 12:00 am

    Subscribed to From PDX with Love Rss Feed #3

  116. December 4, 2010 at 12:01 am

    Subscribed to From PDX with Love via email #1

UA-17582447-1