Joanie Leeds and the Nightlights ‘What a Zoo’ {Review}

By Wednesday, February 23, 2011 1 No tags Permalink 0

My little big man, aka A., loves, and I mean LOVES, to dance! He will dance to anything! You can be in the kitchen mixing your coffee with a spoon and he’ll be right behind you dancing to the rhythm!

I have always been a big music fan but lately most songs played on the radio are not appropriate for little kids, right? So I’ve been on the quest of finding awesome music for little ears that won’t make me want to plug my ears with whatever is at hand!

I had the opportunity of getting Joanie Leeds and the Nightlights, new album ‘What a Zoo!’, which, by the way, is awesome! But before I continue, let me introduce to you Joanie Leeds:

Building on the momentum of her 2010 Parents’ Choice® Gold Award-winning album, I’m a Rock Star, independent children’s musician Joanie Leeds brings her attention to the animal kingdom with the April 12 release of her new kids’ CD, What a Zoo! (Limbostar, $15.00, for ages 2 – 9).  Joining Joanie and her band, The Nightlights, is the critically acclaimed “hip hop for kids” musician, Secret Agent 23 Skidoo.”

CD Tracks:

01) All The Animals
02) Mosquitoes
03) Froggie Went A Courtin’ (Featuring Secret Agent 23 Skidoo)
04) Big Blue Whale
05) Happy As a Clam
06) Hummingbird
07) Sea Cow
08) Possum
09) Tofurky Song
10) If You Go
11) Animals in Concert
12) My Butterfly
13) Pony Boy
14) Wimoweh

Joanie’s voice is amazing and all her songs are great. Your kids will be dancing up a storm as soon as you press play. Not only are the songs fun but they are also educational. For example, “My Butterfly” explores metamorphosis, “Sea Cow” and “Big Blue Whale” focus on endangered species, and the two beat novelty song “Tofurky” emphasizes responsible eating.

Our favorite song is Wimoweh! I love the part where it asks the kids to go to sleep and count to three and scare the grown ups with a roar! It is hilarious! And I have proof, muahaha (evil laugh)…

I love the CD and so do my boys! So if you want to take a peak into her songs, make sure to visit their site!

The album comes out April 12th, so make sure to get your copy, you won’t regret it!

– GET IT –

Find What a Zoo! and many more of Joanie Leeds albums online.


Find Joanie Leeds and the Nightlights on Facebook and Twitter .

Disclosure: I received a copy of the CD for review purposes only. No other form of compensation was received.
The opinions stated are my own and were in no way influenced by anyone.

Vote for me @ Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

1 Comment