From PDX with Love

Owlkids – CHIRP Magazine {Review/Giveaway}


I’ve always dreamed of a room full with books about every single subject there is and even more. I don’t remember growing up with a lot of books at home though we did rent them from the school library. Bu tI have always wanted my own library with a window seat full of comfy and colorful pillows.

Of course my dream library has a kids section! And I know someday my boys will grow up and start reading from the other sections but someday I will have grandkids and I’ll have a vast collection of books for them.

Today I want to share with you our new addition to our collection: Owlkids‘ Chirp Magazine!

Owlkids publishes entertaining, unique, high quality magazines and books that nurture the potential of children and instill in them a love of reading and learning — about themselves and the world around them.

I am pretty sure most of you haven’t heard of them since they are located in Toronto, but let me tell you that they have fast become a favorite of mine! And the boys:

 

 

Owlkids has 3 different magazine geared towards different age groups:

.        Chirp Magazine: 3-6
.        chickaDEE Magazine: 6-9
.        OWL Magazine: 9-13

We got the chance to review two of their most recent issues and both the boys love them!

Chirp brings a package of puzzles, stories and activities designed for kids 3 to 6 years of age. The pages are filled with bouncy illustrations and colorful photographs that encourage kids to learn and laugh. Illustrated stories and poems are written by Canada’s most talented authors and artists who entertain kids while preparing them to read independently.

 

 

The magazines have a vast selection of fun stories and colorful and even funny pictures. There are also little crafts for kids to do, like caterpillar wristbands or building Chirp’s house.

What I like the most from the magazines is that they throw in little facts about that month’s main theme. For example, April was ‘The Hairy Issue’ where they shared all kinds of fact about hair, like, did you know that Norway has a ‘World Beard and Moustache Contest’ held this month? No? Me neither! Or, did you know that baby porcupines are born with soft hair that hardens into sharp quills? I did not know this!

 

{Notice how they are both sticking their tongues out!}

 

You can also expand the fun beyond the pages and into the internet by visiting Chirp Family where you’ll find recipes, crafts, tips, videos and tons more!

But Owlkids also offers books that live up to the high standards of the award-winning children’s magazines! With engaging writing, bold graphics and the best children’s authors, illustrators, editors, and designers, books from Owlkids are loved by parents, teachers, librarians, and — most importantly — kids!

 

 

- GET IT -

Find Owlkids online and subscribe to their magazines!

 

- WIN IT -

One (1) lucky reader of From PDX with Love will each win a Owlkids gift basket (ARV $75)!

- Free 6-month subscription to Chirp, chickaDEE, or OWL magazine
- Poster map of Canada (if recipient is Canadian)
- Activity sheets
- Sample magazines
- Bookmarks, stickers, balloons
- Owlkids book (not sure which one yet)

 

Rules

Open US & Canada only!!
Contest ends May 27, 2011 @ midnight PST.
You must be 18 years or older.
Comments not meeting requirements will be deleted.

Please, only one email per person.
The mandatory entry must be done for any other entries to count.


MANDATORY ENTRY

Follow From PDX with Love publicly through GFC (bar @ the bottom of the page) and follow Owlkids on Facebook!

 

Extra entries (1 comment each unless otherwise noted)

  • Follow From PDX with Love on Twitter
  • Follow Owlkids on Twitter
  • Like From PDX with Love on FB
  • Subscribe to From PDX with Love Rss Feed
  • Subscribe to From PDX with Love via email (sidebar) +2
  • Tweet#win a giftbasket w/magazines #books stickers & much more from @owlkids @frompdxwithlove http://bit.ly/lIcODS #giveaway #contest #kids 5/27 +1 each (twice a day) leave link to your status
  • Vote for us on Picket Fence Blogs (can be done daily)
  • Blog about the giveaway (leave a link on your comment to the post on your blog) +2
  • Enter another of my giveaways +2 each

 

EXTRA ENTRY Grab my button! +5

 

 

Winner will be chosen using random.org and will be contacted via email. The winner will have 48hrs to respond or another winner will be chosen.

 

Disclosure: This was not a paid post. The opinions stated are my own and were in no way influenced by the Hosting Company who graciously provided the product for me to review.

About Sofia

Wife to a wonderful man and mother to 2 little boys. Loves chocolate, coffee and chips with hot sauce and lime. Pretend chef and aspiring photographer.
11th May 2011

Your Comments:

  1. May 11, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    I follow you via GFC and Owl kids on fb as Caroline W

  2. May 11, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    I follow you on twitter as @carolineinbc

  3. May 11, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    I follow owlkids on twitter as @carolineinbc

  4. May 11, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    I like you on fb as Caroline W

  5. May 11, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    I subscribe to your rss feed

  6. May 11, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    I am an email subscriber

  7. May 11, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    email subscriber #2

  8. May 11, 2011 at 8:01 pm
  9. May 11, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    voted for you on picket fence blogs

  10. May 11, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    I also entered your magic cabin giveaway

  11. May 11, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    i follow you on gfc as tasha r. i am a fan of owlkids on facebook as tasha j r.

    taylortasha at msn dot com

  12. May 11, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    entered magic cabin giveaway entry #2

  13. May 11, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    follow you on twitter @pdxoregonmom; taylortasha at msn dot com

  14. May 11, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    fan of yours on facebook as tasha j r; taylortasha at msn dot com

  15. May 11, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    following owlkids on twitter @pdxoregonmom
    taylortasha at msn dot com

  16. May 11, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    email subscriber

    taylortasha at msn dot com

    1 of 2

  17. May 11, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    email subscriber

    taylortasha at msn dot com

    2 of 2

  18. May 11, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    picket fences vote 05.11
    taylortasha at msn dot com

  19. May 11, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    daily tweet #1 05.11:

    http://twitter.com/#!/pdxoregonmom/status/68526941476630529

    taylortasha at msn dot com

  20. May 11, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    entered the nicobella organics giveaway

    taylortasha at msn dot com

    1 of 2

  21. May 11, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    entered the nicobella organics giveaway

    taylortasha at msn dot com

    2 of 2

  22. May 11, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    entered the activewearUSA giveaway

    taylortasha at msn dot com

    1 of 2

  23. May 11, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    entered the activewearUSA giveaway

    taylortasha at msn dot com

    2 of 2

  24. May 11, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    entered the greentown toys giveaway

    taylortasha at msn dot com

    1 of 2

  25. May 11, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    entered the greentown toys giveaway

    taylortasha at msn dot com

    2 of 2

  26. May 11, 2011 at 8:12 pm

    entered the magic cabin giveaway

    taylortasha at msn dot com

    1 of 2

  27. May 11, 2011 at 8:12 pm

    entered the magic cabin giveaway

    taylortasha at msn dot com

    2 of 2

  28. May 11, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    entered the princes bedtime story giveaway

    taylortasha at msn dot com

    1 of 2

  29. May 11, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    entered the princes bedtime story giveaway

    taylortasha at msn dot com

    2 of 2

  30. May 11, 2011 at 8:14 pm

    entered the piggy paint giveaway

    taylortasha at msn dot com

    1 of 2

  31. May 11, 2011 at 8:14 pm

    entered the piggy paint giveaway

    taylortasha at msn dot com

    2 of 2

  32. May 11, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    entered the carla daly giveaway

    taylortasha at msn dot com

    1 of 2

  33. May 11, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    entered the carla daly giveaway

    taylortasha at msn dot com

    2 of 2

  34. May 11, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    entered the baby bedding giveaway

    taylortasha at msn dot com

    1 of 2

  35. May 11, 2011 at 8:16 pm

    entered the baby bedding giveaway

    taylortasha at msn dot com

    2 of 2

  36. May 11, 2011 at 8:16 pm

    entered the house of sunglasses giveaway

    taylortasha at msn dot com

    1 of 2

  37. May 11, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    entered the house of sunglasses giveaway

    taylortasha at msn dot com

    2 of 2

  38. May 11, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    daily tweet #2 05.11:

    http://twitter.com/#!/pdxoregonmom/status/68562919994036224

    taylortasha at msn dot com

  39. May 12, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    daily tweet 05.12 #1:

    http://twitter.com/#!/pdxoregonmom/status/68800870451650562

    taylortasha at msn dot com

  40. May 12, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    picket fences 05.12 vote

    taylortasha at msn dot com

  41. May 12, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    daily tweet #2 05.12:

    http://twitter.com/#!/pdxoregonmom/status/68881206657298433

    taylortasha at msn dot com

  42. May 13, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    I follow u via gfc and like Owlkids on fb (i’m anne dall on fb) annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  43. May 13, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    I follow you on Twitter (I’m wowtotweet). annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  44. May 13, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    I follow Owlkids on Twitter (I’m wowtotweet). annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  45. May 13, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    I like you on FB (i’m anne dall on fb) annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  46. May 13, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    I subscribe to your rss feed. annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  47. May 13, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    http://twitter.com/#!/wowtotweet/status/69136573656072192 tweet link. annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  48. May 13, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    I voted for you on Picket Fence Blogs. annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  49. May 13, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    I subscribe to your email. annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  50. May 13, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    I subscribe to your email. annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com
    entry 2

  51. May 13, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    I entered your piggy Paint giveaway. annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com
    entry 1

  52. May 13, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    I entered your piggy Paint giveaway. annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com
    entry 2

  53. May 13, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    I follow you on gfc and OK on FB

  54. May 13, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    I follow OK on twitter @angiebestboss

  55. May 13, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    I follow you on twitter

  56. May 13, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    I subscribe via email # 1

  57. May 13, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    I subscribe via email # 2

  58. May 14, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    follow PDX via GFC and Owlkids on FB
    april yedinak

  59. May 14, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    follow you on twitter
    ape2016

  60. May 14, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    follow them on twitter
    ape2016

  61. May 14, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    like you on FB
    april yedinak

  62. May 14, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    subscribe via RSS

  63. May 14, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    email subscriber

  64. May 14, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    email 2

  65. May 14, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    voted on Picket Fence

  66. May 14, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    entered Baby Bedding Zone giveaway

  67. May 14, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    entered Baby Bedding Zone giveaway 2

  68. May 14, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    entered House of Sunglasses giveaway

  69. May 14, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    entered House of Sunglasses giveaway 2

  70. May 14, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    GFC follower and like owl kids on fb.

  71. May 14, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    follow pdx kids with love on twiter @aawhitehead

  72. May 14, 2011 at 4:17 pm

    follow owl kids on twitter @aawhitehead

  73. May 14, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    like pdx with love on facebook.

  74. May 14, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    daily tweet 05.14, #1:

    http://twitter.com/#!/pdxoregonmom/status/69634600070160384

    taylortasha at msn dot com

  75. May 14, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    picket fences vote 05.14; taylortasha at msn dot com

  76. May 14, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    entered the tooth timer giveaway; taylortasha at msn dot com

    1 of 2

  77. May 14, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    entered the tooth timer giveaway; taylortasha at msn dot com

    2 of 2

  78. May 16, 2011 at 3:20 pm

    http://twitter.com/#!/wowtotweet/status/70267279551639552 tweet link. annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  79. May 16, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    Voted for you today on Picket Fence Blogs. annejk112233(at)yahoo(dot)com

  80. May 16, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    I follow you on GFC and Owlkids on Facebook

    callista83 AT cogeco DOT ca

  81. May 16, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    I follow you on twitter as callista83

    callista83 AT cogeco DOT ca

  82. May 16, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    I follow OwlKids on twitter as callista83

    callista83 AT cogeco DOT ca

  83. May 16, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    I voted on picket fence

    callista83 AT cogeco DOT ca

  84. May 16, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    I follow you on facebook too as Kathleen G

    callista83 AT cogeco DOT ca

  85. May 17, 2011 at 3:17 am

    I follow From PDX with Love publicly through GFC and follow Owlkids on Facebook!

  86. May 17, 2011 at 7:13 am

    I am follow you via GFC and Owl on FB. I am familiar with these magazines and they are great!

  87. May 17, 2011 at 7:14 am

    Follow Owlkids on Twitter

  88. May 17, 2011 at 7:14 am

    I voted for you!

  89. May 17, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    entered the amy michelle giveaway
    1 of 2

  90. May 17, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    entered the amy michelle giveaway
    2 of 2

  91. May 17, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    picket fences vote 05.17

  92. May 17, 2011 at 1:27 pm
  93. May 17, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    GFC: esluka & FB erinn arena sluka

  94. May 17, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    Email subscriber erinnsluka@gmail.com

  95. May 17, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    Email subscriber erinnsluka@gmail.com
    2

  96. May 17, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    Twitter follower @3sonshavei erinnsluka@gmail.com

  97. May 17, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    I voted today! erinnsluka(at)gmail(dot)com

  98. May 17, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    I Entered Giveaway: erinnsluka@gmail.com
    Magic Cabin

  99. May 17, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    I Entered Giveaway: erinnsluka@gmail.com
    Magic Cabin 2

  100. May 17, 2011 at 8:31 pm
  101. May 18, 2011 at 8:05 am

    follow via gfc and like owlkids on fb @ alison sheardy czischke

  102. May 18, 2011 at 8:06 am

    follow u on twitter @ mom22kids05

  103. May 18, 2011 at 8:06 am

    follow owlkids on twitter @mom22kids05

  104. May 18, 2011 at 8:08 am

    vote on picket fence

  105. May 18, 2011 at 8:08 am

    email subscriber entry 1

  106. May 18, 2011 at 8:08 am

    email subscriber entry 2

  107. May 18, 2011 at 11:21 am

    entered the house of sunglasses giveaway

  108. May 18, 2011 at 11:21 am

    entered the carla daly giveaeway

  109. May 18, 2011 at 11:22 am
  110. May 18, 2011 at 9:24 pm
  111. May 18, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    picket fences vote 05.18

  112. May 19, 2011 at 12:05 am

    vote on picket fence 5-19

  113. May 19, 2011 at 7:23 am
  114. May 19, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    follow pdx with love and owlkids

  115. May 19, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    entered the magic cabin giveaway

  116. May 19, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    entered the magic cabin giveaway- entry 2.

  117. May 20, 2011 at 6:40 am

    daily vote on picket fence 5-20

  118. May 20, 2011 at 11:59 am
  119. May 21, 2011 at 8:26 pm

    daily vote on picket fence for 5-21

  120. May 21, 2011 at 9:36 pm
  121. May 21, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    picket fences vote 05.1

  122. May 22, 2011 at 10:24 am

    vote on picket fence for 5-22

  123. May 23, 2011 at 8:15 am

    picket fence vote for 5-23

  124. May 23, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    tweet # 1 05.23:

    http://twitter.com/#!/pdxoregonmom/status/72913471750160384

    taylortasha at msn dot com

  125. May 23, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    picket fences vote 05.23; taylortasha at msn dot com

  126. May 23, 2011 at 11:03 pm

    entered the scriptiva paper studio giveaway; taylortasha at msn dot com
    1 of 2

  127. May 23, 2011 at 11:03 pm

    entered the scriptiva paper studio giveaway; taylortasha at msn dot com
    2 of 2

  128. May 24, 2011 at 11:03 am

    daily vote on picket fence for 5-24

  129. May 24, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    tweet 05.24:

    http://twitter.com/#!/pdxoregonmom/status/73275996064854017

    taylortasha at msn dot com

  130. May 24, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    picket fences vote 05.24; taylortasha at msn dot com

  131. May 24, 2011 at 10:37 pm

    entered the snoozie giveaway; taylortasha at msn dot com
    1 of 2

  132. May 24, 2011 at 10:37 pm

    entered the snoozie giveaway; taylortasha at msn dot com
    2 of 2

  133. May 25, 2011 at 6:22 am

    Voted for you today on picket fence blogs May 25

  134. May 25, 2011 at 7:09 am

    daily vote on picket fence for 5-25

  135. May 25, 2011 at 8:29 am

    I follow via GFC and liked Owl Kids FB page.

  136. May 25, 2011 at 8:29 am

    I like From PDX with Love on FB

  137. May 25, 2011 at 8:30 am
  138. May 25, 2011 at 8:31 am

    I subscribed to emails. Entry #1
    mmjohnson555@gmail.com

  139. May 25, 2011 at 8:31 am

    I subscribed to emails. Entry #2
    mmjohnson555@gmail.com

  140. May 25, 2011 at 9:59 am

    I’m a Google Friend (follower): Cori Westphal

    I like OwlKids on Facebook: Cori Eckstrom Westphal (facebook.com/coriwestphal)

    coriwestphal at msn dot com

  141. May 25, 2011 at 10:00 am

    I follow you on Twitter @coriwestphal

    coriwestphal at msn dot com

  142. May 25, 2011 at 10:00 am

    I follow OwlKids on Twitter @coriwestphal

    coriwestphal at msn dot com

  143. May 25, 2011 at 10:01 am

    I’m an RSS subscriber via Google Reader.

    coriwestphal at msn dot com

  144. May 25, 2011 at 10:01 am

    I like you on Facebook: Cori Eckstrom Westphal (facebook.com/coriwestphal)

    coriwestphal at msn dot com

  145. May 25, 2011 at 10:02 am
  146. May 25, 2011 at 10:04 am

    I voted for you at Picket Fence!

    coriwestphal at msn dot com

  147. May 25, 2011 at 10:04 am

    I have your main button (it’s alphabetical): http://asahmlookingforadeal.blogspot.com/2009/09/sahm-looking-for-deals-favorite-blogs.html
    Entry 1

    coriwestphal at msn dot com

  148. May 25, 2011 at 10:05 am

    I have your main button (it’s alphabetical): http://asahmlookingforadeal.blogspot.com/2009/09/sahm-looking-for-deals-favorite-blogs.html
    Entry 2

    coriwestphal at msn dot com

  149. May 25, 2011 at 10:16 am

    I have your main button (it’s alphabetical): http://asahmlookingforadeal.blogspot.com/2009/09/sahm-looking-for-deals-favorite-blogs.html
    Entry 3

    coriwestphal at msn dot com

  150. May 25, 2011 at 10:16 am

    I have your main button (it’s alphabetical): http://asahmlookingforadeal.blogspot.com/2009/09/sahm-looking-for-deals-favorite-blogs.html
    Entry 4

    coriwestphal at msn dot com

  151. May 25, 2011 at 10:17 am

    I have your main button (it’s alphabetical): http://asahmlookingforadeal.blogspot.com/2009/09/sahm-looking-for-deals-favorite-blogs.html
    Entry 5

    coriwestphal at msn dot com

  152. May 25, 2011 at 2:21 pm

    I follow via GFC and I like Owlkids on facebook!

    Jennifer Smith STewart

  153. May 25, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    I follow you on twitter! (kennedie0605)

  154. May 25, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    I follow Owlkids on twitter! (kennedie0605)

  155. May 25, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    I like you on facebook!

    Jennifer Smith Stewart

  156. May 25, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    I subscribe via email!

  157. May 25, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    I subscribe via email entry 2!

  158. May 25, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    I voted for you on the picket fence today!

  159. May 25, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    I entered the Erin Baker’s giveaway!

  160. May 25, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    I entered the Erin Baker’s giveaway entry 2!

  161. May 25, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    daily tweet #1 05.25:

    http://twitter.com/#!/pdxoregonmom/status/73523115086450688

    taylortasha at msn dot com

  162. May 25, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    picket fences vote 05.25; taylortasha at msn dot com

  163. May 26, 2011 at 6:11 am

    daily vote on picket fence blog

  164. May 26, 2011 at 6:31 am

    Voted for you today on picket fence blogs May 26

  165. May 26, 2011 at 7:41 pm

    Trying to follow you on GFC but your bar on the bottom is blank, please let me know when it’s fixed so I can follow correctly. I follow Owlkids on Facebook (facebook.com/ginaturner)

  166. May 26, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    I Follow From PDX with Love on Twitter (@wrestlingaddict)

  167. May 26, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    I Follow Owlkids on Twitter (@wrestlingaddict)

  168. May 26, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    I Like From PDX with Love on FB (facebook.com/ginaturner)

  169. May 26, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    I Subscribe to From PDX with Love via email with my lyricsmama at Hotmail.com account #1

  170. May 26, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    I Subscribe to From PDX with Love via email with my lyricsmama at Hotmail.com account #2

  171. May 26, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    voted for you on Picket Fence Blogs

  172. May 26, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    Entered your Journey Gym Giveaway #1

  173. May 26, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    Entered your Journey Gym Giveaway #2

  174. May 26, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    entered the journey gym giveaway; taylortasha at msn dot com
    1 of 2

  175. May 26, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    entered the journey gym giveaway; taylortasha at msn dot com
    2 of 2

  176. May 26, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    daily tweet #1 05.26:

    http://twitter.com/#!/pdxoregonmom/status/73977344506863616

    taylortasha at msn dot com

  177. May 26, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    picket fences vote 05.26; taylortasha at msn dot com

  178. May 26, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    2nd tweet 05.26:

    http://twitter.com/#!/pdxoregonmom/status/74002122181586944

    taylortasha at msn dot com

  179. May 27, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    daily vote on picket fence

  180. May 31, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    Mandatory Entry complete!

UA-17582447-1