From PDX with Love

Attune Foods cereal {Review/Giveaway}

 

Just a few days back I wrote a post on my vices…I completely forgot to add two things in that post: socks and cereal. I always start my day by putting back my socks and having a nice bowl of cereal with cold milk!

I don’t really have a favorite cereal but I like the ones that have fiber in them. I have always been eating fiber due to my slow digestive system. It used to be bad when I was a little girl but it has thankfully gotten better with time and lots of fiber!

While on my search for healthy food for our family I found Attune Foods who graciously sent us 3 different boxed cereals from their Uncle Sam brand.

 

An American Original since 1908, Uncle Sam has nourished families for over 100 years! Red winter wheat berries with flaxseeds make this a wholesome high fiber & heart-healthy cereal.

 

 

I have to start my day with breakfast. Always had and always will. And cereal is the best way to go! Simple and fast but still filling, specially if it has fiber!

For our review we received their Uncle Sam Original CerealUncle Sam Honey Almond Cereal and Uncle Sam Strawberry Cereal.

 

 

{Uncle Sam Original Cereal}

 

This was my personal favorite. It having 10g of fiber must be te top reason behind this. The original cereal is made with toasted whole wheat flakes and whole flaxseeds.

I eat it as a snack and not necessarily as my morning cereal (I have to go through an opened box), besides, who dosen’t like breakfast at any given time!? Plus, it adds a great crunch to your yogurt! Tried and approved!

Ingredients: Whole wheat kernels, whole flaxseed, salt, barley malt.

 

 

{Uncle Sam Honey Almond Cereal}

 

This is everyone’s second favorite, except Tyler, he did not like it! But, as he put it: “I only ate it because I know it is healthy”. Healthy it is! I did like it because it is not too sweet! It only has a hint of honey that doesn’t over power the rest of the ingredients.

Each serving has 6 grams of fiber and 6 grams of protein. And the almonds are delicious!

This cereal I eat as is…though, now that I think about it, it would go great on a parfait! Simply replace the granola with your Uncle Sam Honey Almond Cereal! :D

 

Ingredients: Toasted whole wheat berry flake (whole wheat kernels, salt, barley malt), sliced almonds, flax seed, evaporated cane juice, honey, natural flavor.

 

 

{Uncle Sam Strawberry Cereal}

 

This is the boys’ favorite one and it is all thanks to the strawberries which, to my surprise, taste great! Just like real strawberries! Both A & J ate their whole bowl starting, of course, with the strawberries.

I have only tried the wheat flakes and they are good! I thought I should spare the strawberries and let the boys eat them since they love them so!

Ingredients: Toasted whole wheat berry flake (whole wheat kernels, salt, barley malt), flaxseed, evaporated cane juice, freeze-dried strawberries, natural strawberry flavor.

 

If you are looking for a healthier breakfast cereal make sure to give Uncle Sam a try! They taste good and they are good for you, couldn’t get any better!

 

- GET IT -

Find Attune Foods and Uncle Sam cereals online or at a store near you.
Among these stores are Whole Foods, Safeway, Trader Joe’s, Vons and many more!

 

- WIN IT -

One (1) lucky reader of From PDX with Love will win the same 3 boxes of cereal I did!

 

 

 

Rules

Open US only!!
Contest ends June 02, 2011 @ midnight PST.
You must be 18 years or older.
Comments not meeting requirements will be deleted.

Please, only one email per person.
The mandatory entry must be done for any other entries to count.


MANDATORY ENTRY

Follow From PDX with Love publicly through GFC (bar @ the bottom of the page) and tell me how you’d prepare your Uncle Sam cereal!

 

 

Extra entries (1 comment each unless otherwise noted)

  • Follow From PDX with Love on Twitter
  • Follow Attune Foods on Twitter
  • Like From PDX with Love on FB
  • Like Attune Foods on FB
  • Subscribe to From PDX with Love Rss Feed
  • Subscribe to From PDX with Love via email (sidebar) +2
  • Tweet: #win 3 boxes of @attunefoods Uncle Sam cereals @frompdxwithlove http://bit.ly/jYe66J #giveaway #contest #healthy #food #breakfast ENDS 06/02 +1 each (twice a day) leave link to your status
  • Vote for us on Picket Fence Blogs (can be done daily)
  • Blog about the giveaway (leave a link on your comment to the post on your blog) +2
  • Enter another of my giveaways +2 each

 

EXTRA ENTRY Grab my button! +5

 

 

Winner will be chosen using random.org and will be contacted via email. The winner will have 48hrs to respond or another winner will be chosen.

 

Disclosure: This was not a paid post. The opinions stated are my own and were in no way influenced by the Hosting Company who graciously provided the product for me to review.

About Sofia

Wife to a wonderful man and mother to 2 little boys. Loves chocolate, coffee and chips with hot sauce and lime. Pretend chef and aspiring photographer.
19th May 2011

Your Comments:

  1. May 19, 2011 at 8:16 pm

    GFC follower.
    I would prepare them with milk and add slices of banana in them.

  2. May 19, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    Like From PDX with Love on FB

  3. May 20, 2011 at 12:32 am

    Like Attune Foods on FB

  4. May 20, 2011 at 5:49 am

    With almond milk and sliced bananas-yum!
    I follow via GFC

  5. May 20, 2011 at 5:49 am

    I voted for you on picket fence

  6. May 20, 2011 at 5:50 am

    I follow you on twitter

  7. May 20, 2011 at 5:51 am

    I follow Attune on twitter

  8. May 20, 2011 at 5:51 am

    I follow PDX on FB

  9. May 20, 2011 at 5:57 am

    I like Attune on FB

  10. May 20, 2011 at 5:57 am

    I subscribe via email

  11. May 20, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    I follow From PDX with Love publicly through GFC and I’d prepare my Uncle Sam cereal with milk.

  12. May 20, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    email subscriber #1

  13. May 20, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    email subscriber #2

  14. May 20, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    Voted for you on the fence

  15. May 21, 2011 at 12:05 am

    FOLLOW and add milk and blueberries

  16. May 21, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    I follow your blog publicly with google friend connect and I’d use Uncle Sam’s cereal as breakfast with Soymilk in the morning, and also as a crumble topping for pie!

  17. May 21, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    I voted for you on picket fence blogs

  18. May 21, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    I like you on Facebook – my FB name is Amanda Moore

  19. May 21, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    I like Attune Foods on Facebook – my FB name is Amanda Moore

  20. May 21, 2011 at 6:59 pm

    I subscribe to your RSS Feed with google reader

  21. May 21, 2011 at 6:59 pm

    I follow @frompdxwithlove on Twitter – I’m @AmberGoo

  22. May 21, 2011 at 7:00 pm
  23. May 21, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    Entered the Amy MIchelle giveaway #1

  24. May 21, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    Entered the Amy MIchelle giveaway #2

  25. May 22, 2011 at 9:03 am

    GFC(5webs) and I’d use 2% Milk and sliced bananas on my Uncle Sam’s Cereal.
    Alicia Webster
    5webs@comcast.net

  26. May 22, 2011 at 9:04 am

    I follow you on Twitter(5webs)
    Alicia Webster
    5webs@comcast.net

  27. May 22, 2011 at 9:05 am

    I follow Attune Foods on Twitter(5webs)
    Alicia Webster
    5webs@comcast.net

  28. May 22, 2011 at 9:06 am

    I like you on FB (Alicia Webster)
    Alicia Webster
    5webs@comcast.net

  29. May 22, 2011 at 9:07 am

    I like Attune Foods on FB (Alicia Webster)
    Alicia Webster
    5webs@comcast.net

  30. May 22, 2011 at 9:09 am

    Google Reader subscriber
    Alicia Webster
    5webs@comcast.net

  31. May 22, 2011 at 9:09 am

    E-mail subscriber
    Alicia Webster
    5webs@comcast.net
    1

  32. May 22, 2011 at 9:10 am

    E-mail subscriber
    Alicia Webster
    5webs@comcast.net
    2

  33. May 22, 2011 at 9:12 am

    I voted for you on Picket Fence Blogs
    Alicia Webster
    5webs@comcast.net

  34. May 22, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    I would prepare them with milk and sliced strawberries

  35. May 22, 2011 at 11:36 pm

    I’d just add some soymilk to it- since I’ve recently started drinking the yummy stuff!

  36. May 23, 2011 at 6:27 am

    I am a GFC follower(calvad) and would prepare this cereal with vanilla soymilk!

  37. May 23, 2011 at 9:39 am

    With almond milk, yum!

  38. May 23, 2011 at 9:39 am

    entered karma kiss 1

  39. May 23, 2011 at 9:40 am

    Entered karma kiss 2

  40. May 23, 2011 at 9:41 am

    Entered amy michelle bags 1

  41. May 23, 2011 at 9:41 am

    entered amy michelle bags 2

  42. May 26, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    I entered your Byron Bay Cookies giveaway
    #1

  43. May 26, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    I entered your Byron Bay Cookies giveaway
    #2

  44. May 26, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    I entered your Lily.B hydrating serum giveaway
    #1

  45. May 26, 2011 at 5:09 pm

    I entered your Lily.B hydrating serum giveaway
    #2

  46. May 26, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    I voted for you on picket fence blogs today

  47. May 26, 2011 at 5:11 pm
  48. May 26, 2011 at 6:30 pm

    I follow you publicly as sweetsue. I would put skim milk and blueberries on my Uncle Sam cereal.
    smchester at gmail dot com

  49. May 29, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    GFC follower as Belinda and I’d prepare it with milk and sliced bananas :)
    mikebelindaconnor at hotmail dot com

  50. May 29, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    I follow you on FB
    Belinda B
    mikebelindaconnor at hotmail dot com

  51. May 29, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    voted on picket fence
    mikebelindaconnor at hotmail dot com

  52. May 29, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    I follow you on twitter
    mommato5boys
    mikebelindaconnor at hotmail dot com

  53. May 29, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    tweet
    http://twitter.com/#!/mommato5boys/status/75001991708942336

    mikebelindaconnor at hotmail dot com

  54. May 30, 2011 at 4:06 am

    Hi, I follow you via Google Friend Connect. I’d prepare Uncle Sam cereal with milk or soy milk and possibly sliced bananas or a bit of brown sugar.

  55. May 30, 2011 at 4:08 am

    I follow From PDX with Love on Twitter (@shala_darkstone).

  56. May 30, 2011 at 4:09 am

    I follow Attune Foods on Twitter (@shala_darkstone).

  57. May 30, 2011 at 4:09 am

    I like From PDX with Love on FB (FB name: Maddie Brubaker).

  58. May 30, 2011 at 4:10 am

    I like Attune Foods on FB (FB name: Maddie Brubaker).

  59. May 30, 2011 at 4:10 am

    I subscribe to From PDX with Love RSS Feed.

  60. May 30, 2011 at 4:11 am

    I voted for you on Picket Fence Blogs.

  61. May 30, 2011 at 4:13 am

    I entered the Snoozies giveaway.
    #1

  62. May 30, 2011 at 4:14 am

    I entered the Snoozies giveaway.
    #2

  63. May 30, 2011 at 6:18 am

    GFC follower as jcottey. I’d prepare it with skim milk.

  64. May 30, 2011 at 6:19 am

    I subscribe to From PDX with Love via Rss Feed.

  65. May 30, 2011 at 6:19 am

    I voted for you on Picket Fence Blogs.

  66. May 30, 2011 at 6:20 am

    #1 I entered the Snoozies giveaway.

  67. May 30, 2011 at 6:20 am

    #2 I entered the Snoozies giveaway.

  68. May 30, 2011 at 6:20 am

    #1 I entered ‘The Wild Soccer Bunch’ giveaway.

  69. May 30, 2011 at 6:21 am

    #2 I entered ‘The Wild Soccer Bunch’ giveaway.

  70. May 30, 2011 at 6:21 am

    #1 I entered the Yael Naim CD giveaway.

  71. May 30, 2011 at 6:21 am

    #2 I entered the Yael Naim CD giveaway.

  72. May 30, 2011 at 6:22 am

    #1 I entered the Byron Bay giveaway.

  73. May 30, 2011 at 6:22 am

    #2 I entered the Byron Bay giveaway.

  74. May 30, 2011 at 6:22 am

    #1 I entered Erin Baker’s sample box giveaway.

  75. May 30, 2011 at 6:23 am

    #2 I entered Erin Baker’s sample box giveaway.

  76. May 30, 2011 at 6:32 am

    #1 I entered the Karma Kiss giveaway.

  77. May 30, 2011 at 6:32 am

    #2 I entered the Karma Kiss giveaway.

  78. May 30, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    GFC follower – and I’d just put some berries and milk on it! I LOVE cereal!

  79. May 30, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    I like you on twitter – giantsis

  80. May 30, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    I like you on FB – liz t. n.

  81. May 30, 2011 at 3:23 pm

    I follow Attune Foods on FB – liz t. n.

  82. May 30, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    I like Attune Foods on twitter – giantsis

  83. May 30, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    Voted for you on the Fence today!

  84. May 30, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    Entered the Journey Gym giveaway
    #1

  85. May 30, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    Entered the Journey Gym giveaway
    #2

  86. May 30, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    I’d eat it with a cold bowl of milk.

  87. May 31, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    1/2 plain old skim milk for me; nothing fancy

  88. June 1, 2011 at 10:23 am

    I follow and I’d pour soy milk over it.
    lazybones344 at gmail dot com

  89. June 1, 2011 at 10:24 am

    I follow Attune Foods on twitter: @lazybones344

  90. June 1, 2011 at 10:25 am

    I follow you on twitter: @lazybones344

  91. June 1, 2011 at 12:09 pm

    with almond milk
    kolpin4680 at gmail dot com

  92. June 1, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    twitter follower @kolpin4680 kolpin4680 at gmail dot com

  93. June 1, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    attune twitter follower @kolpin4680 kolpin4680 at gmail dot com

  94. June 1, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    email subscriber kolpin4680 at gmail dot com
    1

  95. June 1, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    email subscriber kolpin4680 at gmail dot com
    2

  96. June 1, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    rss subscriber kolpin4680 at gmail dot com

  97. June 1, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    voted on pf
    kolpin4680 at gmail dot com

  98. June 1, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    enter erin baker
    kolpin4680 at gmail dot com
    1

  99. June 1, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    enter erin baker
    kolpin4680 at gmail dot com
    2

  100. June 1, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    enter Karma Kiss
    kolpin4680 at gmail dot com
    1

  101. June 1, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    enter Karma Kiss
    kolpin4680 at gmail dot com
    2

  102. June 1, 2011 at 6:30 pm

    I follow you via Google Friend Connect (Sewmuchstuff), and I would prepare my Uncle Sam cereal with almond milk. Thank you for the wonderful giveaway!
    sewmuchstuff at ymail dot com

  103. June 1, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    I follow you on twitter (@sewmuchstuff)
    sewmuchstuff at ymail dot com

  104. June 1, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    I follow Attune Foods on twitter (@sewmuchstuff)
    sewmuchstuff at ymail dot com

  105. June 1, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    I like you on Facebook (Erin E)
    sewmuchstuff at ymail dot com

  106. June 1, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    I like Attune Foods on Facebook (Erin E)
    sewmuchstuff at ymail dot com

  107. June 1, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    I subscribe via google reader (RSS)
    sewmuchstuff at ymail dot com

  108. June 1, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    I subscribe to your emails
    sewmuchstuff at ymail dot com

    entry #1

  109. June 1, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    I subscribe to your emails
    sewmuchstuff at ymail dot com

    entry #2

  110. June 1, 2011 at 6:35 pm

    Tweet:
    http://twitter.com/SewMuchStuff/status/76114605457416192
    sewmuchstuff at ymail dot com

  111. June 1, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    I voted for you on Picket Fence Blogs
    sewmuchstuff at ymail dot com

  112. June 1, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    follow and id prepare it plain

  113. June 2, 2011 at 4:59 am

    follow via gfc and I’d eat mine with just plan milk

  114. June 2, 2011 at 5:00 am

    follow pdx on twitter
    @bassgiraffe

  115. June 2, 2011 at 5:00 am

    follow attune foods on twitter
    @bassgiraffe

  116. June 2, 2011 at 5:00 am

    like pdx on fb
    erica e k

  117. June 2, 2011 at 5:01 am

    voted on PF

  118. June 2, 2011 at 5:01 am

    entered- journey-gym-fitness
    #1

  119. June 2, 2011 at 5:02 am

    entered- journey-gym-fitness
    #2

  120. June 2, 2011 at 5:02 am

    entered alo
    #1

  121. June 2, 2011 at 5:03 am

    entered alo
    #2

  122. June 2, 2011 at 6:43 am

    I like it with peach yogurt and fresh peaches. I am a GFC follower.

  123. June 2, 2011 at 9:27 am

    i follow, clarkmurdock, and i’d prepare it with warm milk.

  124. June 2, 2011 at 10:33 am

    following on GFC ..as a snack

  125. June 2, 2011 at 11:54 am

    I am a GFC follower, and I would just add milk to the cereal.

  126. June 2, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    I follow your blog with google friend connect and I’d prepare my cereal with Greek yogurt!

  127. June 2, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    I entered your Softlips giveaway
    #1

  128. June 2, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    I entered your Softlips giveaway
    #2

  129. June 2, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    I voted for you on picket fence blogs today!

  130. June 2, 2011 at 12:20 pm
  131. June 2, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    I would enjoy the original with some whole wheat toast and butter!

  132. June 2, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    I follow you and I’d have mine with skim milk and stevia
    emmaspeel(at)gmail.com

  133. June 2, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    i Like From PDX with Love on FB as Emm Enger
    emmaspeel(at)gmail.com

  134. June 2, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    i Like Attune Foods on FB
    as Emm Enger
    emmaspeel(at)gmail.com

  135. June 2, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    I Subscribed by email. emmaspeel(at)gmail.com

  136. June 2, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    #2 I Subscribed by email. emmaspeel(at)gmail.com

  137. June 2, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    I follow u on picket fence
    emmaspeel(at)gmail.com

  138. June 2, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    i would prepare my cereal with 2% milk

  139. June 2, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    GFC follower: Atreau. I would prepare your my cereal with a little bit of organic skim milk and bananas!

  140. June 2, 2011 at 10:24 pm

    I follow From PDX with Love through Google Friend Connect. I would prepare it with milk and strawberries.

  141. June 2, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    I’m a GFC follower.
    With milk..

  142. June 2, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    I’m an email subscriber.

  143. June 2, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    I’m an email subscriber. 2

  144. June 2, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    I voted for you on Picket Fence Blogs.

  145. June 4, 2011 at 8:11 am

    I follow you via gfc as realtorsd and just with almond milk is my fav!
    sarah at realtorsd.com

  146. June 4, 2011 at 8:12 am

    i follow you on twitter as sarahndavis
    sarah at realtorsd.com

  147. June 4, 2011 at 8:13 am

    i follow atune foods on twitter as sarahndavis
    sarah at realtorsd.com

  148. June 4, 2011 at 8:13 am

    i like you on fb as sarah d
    sarah at realtorsd.com

UA-17582447-1