Attune Foods cereal {Review/Giveaway}

By Thursday, May 19, 2011 153 No tags Permalink 0

 

Just a few days back I wrote a post on my vices…I completely forgot to add two things in that post: socks and cereal. I always start my day by putting back my socks and having a nice bowl of cereal with cold milk!

I don’t really have a favorite cereal but I like the ones that have fiber in them. I have always been eating fiber due to my slow digestive system. It used to be bad when I was a little girl but it has thankfully gotten better with time and lots of fiber!

While on my search for healthy food for our family I found Attune Foods who graciously sent us 3 different boxed cereals from their Uncle Sam brand.

 

An American Original since 1908, Uncle Sam has nourished families for over 100 years! Red winter wheat berries with flaxseeds make this a wholesome high fiber & heart-healthy cereal.

 

 

I have to start my day with breakfast. Always had and always will. And cereal is the best way to go! Simple and fast but still filling, specially if it has fiber!

For our review we received their Uncle Sam Original CerealUncle Sam Honey Almond Cereal and Uncle Sam Strawberry Cereal.

 

 

{Uncle Sam Original Cereal}

 

This was my personal favorite. It having 10g of fiber must be te top reason behind this. The original cereal is made with toasted whole wheat flakes and whole flaxseeds.

I eat it as a snack and not necessarily as my morning cereal (I have to go through an opened box), besides, who dosen’t like breakfast at any given time!? Plus, it adds a great crunch to your yogurt! Tried and approved!

Ingredients: Whole wheat kernels, whole flaxseed, salt, barley malt.

 

 

{Uncle Sam Honey Almond Cereal}

 

This is everyone’s second favorite, except Tyler, he did not like it! But, as he put it: “I only ate it because I know it is healthy”. Healthy it is! I did like it because it is not too sweet! It only has a hint of honey that doesn’t over power the rest of the ingredients.

Each serving has 6 grams of fiber and 6 grams of protein. And the almonds are delicious!

This cereal I eat as is…though, now that I think about it, it would go great on a parfait! Simply replace the granola with your Uncle Sam Honey Almond Cereal! :D

 

Ingredients: Toasted whole wheat berry flake (whole wheat kernels, salt, barley malt), sliced almonds, flax seed, evaporated cane juice, honey, natural flavor.

 

 

{Uncle Sam Strawberry Cereal}

 

This is the boys’ favorite one and it is all thanks to the strawberries which, to my surprise, taste great! Just like real strawberries! Both A & J ate their whole bowl starting, of course, with the strawberries.

I have only tried the wheat flakes and they are good! I thought I should spare the strawberries and let the boys eat them since they love them so!

Ingredients: Toasted whole wheat berry flake (whole wheat kernels, salt, barley malt), flaxseed, evaporated cane juice, freeze-dried strawberries, natural strawberry flavor.

 

If you are looking for a healthier breakfast cereal make sure to give Uncle Sam a try! They taste good and they are good for you, couldn’t get any better!

 

- GET IT -

Find Attune Foods and Uncle Sam cereals online or at a store near you.
Among these stores are Whole Foods, Safeway, Trader Joe’s, Vons and many more!

 

- WIN IT -

One (1) lucky reader of From PDX with Love will win the same 3 boxes of cereal I did!

 

 

 

Rules

Open US only!!
Contest ends June 02, 2011 @ midnight PST.
You must be 18 years or older.
Comments not meeting requirements will be deleted.

Please, only one email per person.
The mandatory entry must be done for any other entries to count.


MANDATORY ENTRY

Follow From PDX with Love publicly through GFC (bar @ the bottom of the page) and tell me how you’d prepare your Uncle Sam cereal!

 

 

Extra entries (1 comment each unless otherwise noted)

  • Follow From PDX with Love on Twitter
  • Follow Attune Foods on Twitter
  • Like From PDX with Love on FB
  • Like Attune Foods on FB
  • Subscribe to From PDX with Love Rss Feed
  • Subscribe to From PDX with Love via email (sidebar) +2
  • Tweet: #win 3 boxes of @attunefoods Uncle Sam cereals @frompdxwithlove http://bit.ly/jYe66J #giveaway #contest #healthy #food #breakfast ENDS 06/02 +1 each (twice a day) leave link to your status
  • Vote for us on Picket Fence Blogs (can be done daily)
  • Blog about the giveaway (leave a link on your comment to the post on your blog) +2
  • Enter another of my giveaways +2 each

 

EXTRA ENTRY Grab my button! +5

 

 

Winner will be chosen using random.org and will be contacted via email. The winner will have 48hrs to respond or another winner will be chosen.

 

Disclosure: This was not a paid post. The opinions stated are my own and were in no way influenced by the Hosting Company who graciously provided the product for me to review.

153 Comments
  • Melanie Morin
    May 19, 2011

    GFC follower.
    I would prepare them with milk and add slices of banana in them.

  • Melanie Morin
    May 19, 2011

    Like From PDX with Love on FB

  • Melanie Morin
    May 20, 2011

    Like Attune Foods on FB

  • angieb
    May 20, 2011

    With almond milk and sliced bananas-yum!
    I follow via GFC

  • angieb
    May 20, 2011

    I voted for you on picket fence

  • angieb
    May 20, 2011

    I follow you on twitter

  • angieb
    May 20, 2011

    I follow Attune on twitter

  • angieb
    May 20, 2011

    I follow PDX on FB

  • angieb
    May 20, 2011

    I like Attune on FB

  • angieb
    May 20, 2011

    I subscribe via email

  • Elizabeth K
    May 20, 2011

    I follow From PDX with Love publicly through GFC and I’d prepare my Uncle Sam cereal with milk.

  • Melanie Morin
    May 20, 2011

    email subscriber #1

  • Melanie Morin
    May 20, 2011

    email subscriber #2

  • Melanie Morin
    May 20, 2011

    Voted for you on the fence

  • SANDY
    May 21, 2011

    FOLLOW and add milk and blueberries

  • Amber
    May 21, 2011

    I follow your blog publicly with google friend connect and I’d use Uncle Sam’s cereal as breakfast with Soymilk in the morning, and also as a crumble topping for pie!

  • Amber
    May 21, 2011

    I voted for you on picket fence blogs

  • Amber
    May 21, 2011

    I like you on Facebook – my FB name is Amanda Moore

  • Amber
    May 21, 2011

    I like Attune Foods on Facebook – my FB name is Amanda Moore

  • Amber
    May 21, 2011

    I subscribe to your RSS Feed with google reader

  • Amber
    May 21, 2011

    I follow @frompdxwithlove on Twitter – I’m @AmberGoo

  • Amber
    May 21, 2011

    I tweeted, I’m @AmberGoo:
    http://twitter.com/#!/AmberGoo/status/72134593007980544

  • Melanie Morin
    May 21, 2011

    Entered the Amy MIchelle giveaway #1

  • Melanie Morin
    May 21, 2011

    Entered the Amy MIchelle giveaway #2

  • Alicia Webster
    May 22, 2011

    GFC(5webs) and I’d use 2% Milk and sliced bananas on my Uncle Sam’s Cereal.
    Alicia Webster
    5webs@comcast.net

  • Alicia Webster
    May 22, 2011

    I follow you on Twitter(5webs)
    Alicia Webster
    5webs@comcast.net

  • Alicia Webster
    May 22, 2011

    I follow Attune Foods on Twitter(5webs)
    Alicia Webster
    5webs@comcast.net

  • Alicia Webster
    May 22, 2011

    I like you on FB (Alicia Webster)
    Alicia Webster
    5webs@comcast.net

  • Alicia Webster
    May 22, 2011

    I like Attune Foods on FB (Alicia Webster)
    Alicia Webster
    5webs@comcast.net

  • Alicia Webster
    May 22, 2011

    Google Reader subscriber
    Alicia Webster
    5webs@comcast.net

  • Alicia Webster
    May 22, 2011

    E-mail subscriber
    Alicia Webster
    5webs@comcast.net
    1

  • Alicia Webster
    May 22, 2011

    E-mail subscriber
    Alicia Webster
    5webs@comcast.net
    2

  • Alicia Webster
    May 22, 2011

    I voted for you on Picket Fence Blogs
    Alicia Webster
    5webs@comcast.net

  • Kimberly L
    May 22, 2011

    I would prepare them with milk and sliced strawberries

  • Amanda
    May 22, 2011

    I’d just add some soymilk to it- since I’ve recently started drinking the yummy stuff!

  • deana c
    May 23, 2011

    I am a GFC follower(calvad) and would prepare this cereal with vanilla soymilk!

  • Claire
    May 23, 2011

    With almond milk, yum!

  • Claire
    May 23, 2011

    entered karma kiss 1

  • Claire
    May 23, 2011

    Entered karma kiss 2

  • Claire
    May 23, 2011

    Entered amy michelle bags 1

  • Claire
    May 23, 2011

    entered amy michelle bags 2

  • Amber
    May 26, 2011

    I entered your Byron Bay Cookies giveaway
    #1

  • Amber
    May 26, 2011

    I entered your Byron Bay Cookies giveaway
    #2

  • Amber
    May 26, 2011

    I entered your Lily.B hydrating serum giveaway
    #1

  • Amber
    May 26, 2011

    I entered your Lily.B hydrating serum giveaway
    #2

  • Amber
    May 26, 2011

    I voted for you on picket fence blogs today

  • Amber
    May 26, 2011

    I tweeted today, I’m @AmberGoo: http://twitter.com/#!/AmberGoo/status/73918964736069632

  • Susan C
    May 26, 2011

    I follow you publicly as sweetsue. I would put skim milk and blueberries on my Uncle Sam cereal.
    smchester at gmail dot com

  • Belinda
    May 29, 2011

    GFC follower as Belinda and I’d prepare it with milk and sliced bananas :)
    mikebelindaconnor at hotmail dot com

  • Belinda
    May 29, 2011

    I follow you on FB
    Belinda B
    mikebelindaconnor at hotmail dot com

  • Belinda
    May 29, 2011

    voted on picket fence
    mikebelindaconnor at hotmail dot com

  • Belinda
    May 29, 2011

    I follow you on twitter
    mommato5boys
    mikebelindaconnor at hotmail dot com

  • Belinda
    May 29, 2011

    tweet
    http://twitter.com/#!/mommato5boys/status/75001991708942336

    mikebelindaconnor at hotmail dot com

  • shala_darkstone
    May 30, 2011

    Hi, I follow you via Google Friend Connect. I’d prepare Uncle Sam cereal with milk or soy milk and possibly sliced bananas or a bit of brown sugar.

  • shala_darkstone
    May 30, 2011

    I follow From PDX with Love on Twitter (@shala_darkstone).

  • shala_darkstone
    May 30, 2011

    I follow Attune Foods on Twitter (@shala_darkstone).

  • shala_darkstone
    May 30, 2011

    I like From PDX with Love on FB (FB name: Maddie Brubaker).

  • shala_darkstone
    May 30, 2011

    I like Attune Foods on FB (FB name: Maddie Brubaker).

  • shala_darkstone
    May 30, 2011

    I subscribe to From PDX with Love RSS Feed.

  • shala_darkstone
    May 30, 2011

    I voted for you on Picket Fence Blogs.

  • shala_darkstone
    May 30, 2011

    I entered the Snoozies giveaway.
    #1

  • shala_darkstone
    May 30, 2011

    I entered the Snoozies giveaway.
    #2

  • Jane
    May 30, 2011

    GFC follower as jcottey. I’d prepare it with skim milk.

  • Jane
    May 30, 2011

    I subscribe to From PDX with Love via Rss Feed.

  • Jane
    May 30, 2011

    I voted for you on Picket Fence Blogs.

  • Jane
    May 30, 2011

    #1 I entered the Snoozies giveaway.

  • Jane
    May 30, 2011

    #2 I entered the Snoozies giveaway.

  • Jane
    May 30, 2011

    #1 I entered ‘The Wild Soccer Bunch’ giveaway.

  • Jane
    May 30, 2011

    #2 I entered ‘The Wild Soccer Bunch’ giveaway.

  • Jane
    May 30, 2011

    #1 I entered the Yael Naim CD giveaway.

  • Jane
    May 30, 2011

    #2 I entered the Yael Naim CD giveaway.

  • Jane
    May 30, 2011

    #1 I entered the Byron Bay giveaway.

  • Jane
    May 30, 2011

    #2 I entered the Byron Bay giveaway.

  • Jane
    May 30, 2011

    #1 I entered Erin Baker’s sample box giveaway.

  • Jane
    May 30, 2011

    #2 I entered Erin Baker’s sample box giveaway.

  • Jane
    May 30, 2011

    #1 I entered the Karma Kiss giveaway.

  • Jane
    May 30, 2011

    #2 I entered the Karma Kiss giveaway.

  • Giant Sis
    May 30, 2011

    GFC follower – and I’d just put some berries and milk on it! I LOVE cereal!

  • Giant Sis
    May 30, 2011

    I like you on twitter – giantsis

  • Giant Sis
    May 30, 2011

    I like you on FB – liz t. n.

  • Giant Sis
    May 30, 2011

    I follow Attune Foods on FB – liz t. n.

  • Giant Sis
    May 30, 2011

    I like Attune Foods on twitter – giantsis

  • Giant Sis
    May 30, 2011

    Voted for you on the Fence today!

  • Giant Sis
    May 30, 2011

    Entered the Journey Gym giveaway
    #1

  • Giant Sis
    May 30, 2011

    Entered the Journey Gym giveaway
    #2

  • Kristen
    May 30, 2011

    I’d eat it with a cold bowl of milk.

  • michelle spayde
    May 31, 2011

    1/2 plain old skim milk for me; nothing fancy

  • Denise S
    June 1, 2011

    I follow and I’d pour soy milk over it.
    lazybones344 at gmail dot com

  • Denise S
    June 1, 2011

    I follow Attune Foods on twitter: @lazybones344

  • Denise S
    June 1, 2011

    I follow you on twitter: @lazybones344

  • kolpin
    June 1, 2011

    with almond milk
    kolpin4680 at gmail dot com

  • kolpin
    June 1, 2011

    twitter follower @kolpin4680 kolpin4680 at gmail dot com

  • kolpin
    June 1, 2011

    attune twitter follower @kolpin4680 kolpin4680 at gmail dot com

  • kolpin
    June 1, 2011

    email subscriber kolpin4680 at gmail dot com
    1

  • kolpin
    June 1, 2011

    email subscriber kolpin4680 at gmail dot com
    2

  • kolpin
    June 1, 2011

    rss subscriber kolpin4680 at gmail dot com

  • kolpin
    June 1, 2011

    voted on pf
    kolpin4680 at gmail dot com

  • kolpin
    June 1, 2011

    enter erin baker
    kolpin4680 at gmail dot com
    1

  • kolpin
    June 1, 2011

    enter erin baker
    kolpin4680 at gmail dot com
    2

  • kolpin
    June 1, 2011

    enter Karma Kiss
    kolpin4680 at gmail dot com
    1

  • kolpin
    June 1, 2011

    enter Karma Kiss
    kolpin4680 at gmail dot com
    2

  • Erin E
    June 1, 2011

    I follow you via Google Friend Connect (Sewmuchstuff), and I would prepare my Uncle Sam cereal with almond milk. Thank you for the wonderful giveaway!
    sewmuchstuff at ymail dot com

  • Erin E
    June 1, 2011

    I follow you on twitter (@sewmuchstuff)
    sewmuchstuff at ymail dot com

  • Erin E
    June 1, 2011

    I follow Attune Foods on twitter (@sewmuchstuff)
    sewmuchstuff at ymail dot com

  • Erin E
    June 1, 2011

    I like you on Facebook (Erin E)
    sewmuchstuff at ymail dot com

  • Erin E
    June 1, 2011

    I like Attune Foods on Facebook (Erin E)
    sewmuchstuff at ymail dot com

  • Erin E
    June 1, 2011

    I subscribe via google reader (RSS)
    sewmuchstuff at ymail dot com

  • Erin E
    June 1, 2011

    I subscribe to your emails
    sewmuchstuff at ymail dot com

    entry #1

  • Erin E
    June 1, 2011

    I subscribe to your emails
    sewmuchstuff at ymail dot com

    entry #2

  • Erin E
    June 1, 2011

    Tweet:
    http://twitter.com/SewMuchStuff/status/76114605457416192
    sewmuchstuff at ymail dot com

  • Erin E
    June 1, 2011

    I voted for you on Picket Fence Blogs
    sewmuchstuff at ymail dot com

  • amanda sakovitz
    June 1, 2011

    follow and id prepare it plain

  • erica k
    June 2, 2011

    follow via gfc and I’d eat mine with just plan milk

  • erica k
    June 2, 2011

    follow pdx on twitter
    @bassgiraffe

  • erica k
    June 2, 2011

    follow attune foods on twitter
    @bassgiraffe

  • erica k
    June 2, 2011

    like pdx on fb
    erica e k

  • erica k
    June 2, 2011

    voted on PF

  • erica k
    June 2, 2011

    entered- journey-gym-fitness
    #1

  • erica k
    June 2, 2011

    entered- journey-gym-fitness
    #2

  • erica k
    June 2, 2011

    entered alo
    #1

  • erica k
    June 2, 2011

    entered alo
    #2

  • jenreco
    June 2, 2011

    I like it with peach yogurt and fresh peaches. I am a GFC follower.

  • melanie
    June 2, 2011

    i follow, clarkmurdock, and i’d prepare it with warm milk.

  • April Bever
    June 2, 2011

    following on GFC ..as a snack

  • April Grimm
    June 2, 2011

    I am a GFC follower, and I would just add milk to the cereal.

  • Amber
    June 2, 2011

    I follow your blog with google friend connect and I’d prepare my cereal with Greek yogurt!

  • Amber
    June 2, 2011

    I entered your Softlips giveaway
    #1

  • Amber
    June 2, 2011

    I entered your Softlips giveaway
    #2

  • Amber
    June 2, 2011

    I voted for you on picket fence blogs today!

  • Amber
    June 2, 2011

    I tweeted today, I’m @AmberGoo: http://twitter.com/#!/AmberGoo/status/76382763103682560

  • Ed Nemmers
    June 2, 2011

    I would enjoy the original with some whole wheat toast and butter!

  • Emma Peel
    June 2, 2011

    I follow you and I’d have mine with skim milk and stevia
    emmaspeel(at)gmail.com

  • Emma Peel
    June 2, 2011

    i Like From PDX with Love on FB as Emm Enger
    emmaspeel(at)gmail.com

  • Emma Peel
    June 2, 2011

    i Like Attune Foods on FB
    as Emm Enger
    emmaspeel(at)gmail.com

  • Emma Peel
    June 2, 2011

    I Subscribed by email. emmaspeel(at)gmail.com

  • Emma Peel
    June 2, 2011

    #2 I Subscribed by email. emmaspeel(at)gmail.com

  • Emma Peel
    June 2, 2011

    I follow u on picket fence
    emmaspeel(at)gmail.com

  • susan smoaks
    June 2, 2011

    i would prepare my cereal with 2% milk

  • Sand
    June 2, 2011

    GFC follower: Atreau. I would prepare your my cereal with a little bit of organic skim milk and bananas!

  • Veronica Garrett
    June 2, 2011

    I follow From PDX with Love through Google Friend Connect. I would prepare it with milk and strawberries.

  • Gianna
    June 2, 2011

    I’m a GFC follower.
    With milk..

  • Gianna
    June 2, 2011

    I’m an email subscriber.

  • Gianna
    June 2, 2011

    I’m an email subscriber. 2

  • Gianna
    June 2, 2011

    I voted for you on Picket Fence Blogs.

  • sarah davis
    June 4, 2011

    I follow you via gfc as realtorsd and just with almond milk is my fav!
    sarah at realtorsd.com

  • sarah davis
    June 4, 2011

    i follow you on twitter as sarahndavis
    sarah at realtorsd.com

  • sarah davis
    June 4, 2011

    i follow atune foods on twitter as sarahndavis
    sarah at realtorsd.com

  • sarah davis
    June 4, 2011

    i like you on fb as sarah d
    sarah at realtorsd.com